We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We used the hotel with our children and grandchildren for a family weekend in Bristol. It was a great location with a bus stop just across the road and many places are within walking distance from the hotel ie Bristol Zoo, Clifton, The Suspension Bridge and down hill all the way to the waterfront, @ Bristol etc.

The building itself is a bit 'tired' in places but all our rooms were fine. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was really good.

All the staff were and helpful and friendly.

I would definitely use this hotel again. It is just a 2 star rating but as good as higher rated hotels hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our booking was made last minute as we were disappointed with another guesthouse we had planned to stay at. We stayed one night and would stay again when we next visit Bristol. Good sized room with good shower. Breakfast was average but sufficient. We were pleased that there was off street parking.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park and the street, and even with windows open had a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

A bit "fawlty towerseque". Room was perfectly adequate but had to ring night porter at 2.30 am as totally fed up with main door bleeping, resulting in lack of sleep. Breakfast was ok but didn't have the wow factor for us.......we've made better camping

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed one night. Basement room. Ok decor. Clean and comfortable. Strance amount of storage furniture. Do people stay in these places for months. Ate out in Clifton Village as recommended by desk clerk. Also had breakfast out. Perfectly adequate for one night only.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked last minute 2 days before going for our night in this hotel.
It's location in Clifton Village is perfect. It's near all the lovely cafes and shops of Clifton and a short walk to the amazing suspension bridge.
The room was clean and a good size with a strong shower and access to a garden too!!
Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were very pleasant.
We tried to book another night but they were fully booked for the day after.

Room Tip: Ours was a bargain at £62 B&B off travel republic. We ended up with a basement room but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKerr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Booked in last minute after a business meeting, lady on reception was fantastic, I had quickly booked online via booking.com and completley messed it up, so when we arrived at 11pm we was not booked in at all, I had inadvertantly booked for the 1st of sept :-(, she changed the booking without any issue at all.
The room was very comfortable, clean and well maintained, with a adequate supply of tea and coffees,
we left early so did not get to try the breakfast but it smelt great.
I would stay again

Room Tip: we had room 201 on the lower ground floor, was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I booked for 9 of us here for a hen do. The hotel was perfect for our needs - clean, nice bathrooms, good breakfast. The location is perfect for nights/days in Clifton and amazingly good value considering where it is.
We had one complaint with one room, but this was sorted out quickly and perfectly by the manager, so would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Killer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 39 in Bristol
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#34 of 39 in Bristol
981 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 39 in Bristol
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#31 of 39 in Bristol
702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: £51 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing