We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, charming, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, charming, good location”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed with a friend in August in a twin room. Room was in the basement and was cozy, with windows looking directly onto parking lot. However, bathroom was a pleasant surprise, as I had been led to expect something tiny and it was actually quite a decent size. Full tub and shower, warming towel rack, plenty of room, big mirror. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of cold and hot choices, and great bacon! Annie our server was very pleasant and helpful. Good location, just a short walk through to Clifton and the bridge, close to restaurants, shops and cafes. Bus stop very close for getting into town and to train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    237
    113
    47
    25
See reviews for
98
216
36
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Reception staff were polite and helpful. Room was on 3rd floor and 54 stairs up!! Room was small, bathroom very small and shower even smaller and impossible to move in. Breakfast was awful-so much so that I skipped it on second day in favour of a local cafe.
Car park was a plus as was the location close to Clifton Village.

Wouldn't go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends, 16 of us. The hotel was OK, reasonable breakfast, very small bar, which we overwhelmed -there wasn't even enough space for us let alone other guests. We arrived early so parking was not a problem. A good location in terms of visiting Bristol, 5 mins from Clifton Village, a longer walk to the SS Great Britain (30min) and Clifton Suspension Bridge (25min) and near a bus route into the City Centre.The problem was the room we had for the first night - 204, I seem to recall. It was in the basement, cramped, with a brick wall app 50cm from the window up to eye level. Above was the drive to the parking area and the pathway for people walking from the annexe, so blinds had to be drawn all the time. We could have put up with that, just, but we were disturbed several times during the night by hard footsteps on a hard floor above, followed by shifting furniture and cooking smells wafting into our room at around 6.00 am. We discovered that we were below the kitchen, where the night porter wandered around and where breakfast was prepared, with a huge extractor fan on the wall right above our window. To add to the discomfort the shower gel - the only source of soap in the shower,didn't work! This room should not be allocated to guests without warning and without a hefty discount. We complained and although we were told that the hotel was full for the following night, we were moved to a much bigger, lighter, airier, room, on the top floor of the annexe - presumably someone else was given 204! So, if staying here, be careful where they put you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Seventy five quid is a lot for a 2 star hotel that has all the feel and atmosphere of a sanotorium.

The double room was okay, but tiny. I couldn't open the door all the way to get in, as it hit a chair. The skirting board in the bathroom was rotten and had peeled away.

Car parking is abysmal in the district, as is the tiny hotel car park. (I had £250 of damage caused to my car in the car park, but no one at the hotel is available to pick up the darned phone!!)

To be fair, the location generally is okay, with a nice park opposite.

Wouldn't stay again though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Welshpool
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Looking to stay for two nights and we booked this hotel for a change as we had previously stayed at the Premier Inn, Cribbs Causeway (too far) and the Bristol Hotel (too noisy).

Upgraded to a larger room(it was enormous) and we could not fault the hotel. It is easily worth 3 stars in my opinion. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was spot on. I parked the car for free at the back of the hotel and didn't move it until it was time to leave. Zoo and suspension bridge was only 10 mins walk and many bars and restaurants a stones throw away. Very quiet at night.

Will definitely stay here again as a first choice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huggins_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

So we were looking to stay local for a seminar & didn't want to spend silly money. It seemed the hotels in the area were not cheap but many of them didn't have favourable reviews - rooms like broom cupboards, very hot, no parking, unfriendly staff etc

I almost ended up booking a Premier Inn type place as I thought at least you know what you're getting for your money BUT then I found the Victoria Sq. Good price, good location, very quaint, well kept, clean, doesn't smell! (many places like this have an 'old smell'!) The breakfasts have been great, staff really friendly (even the night porter when we arrived at 3am!) and this is the most comfortable bed I've slept in when travelling (and I travel a lot for work!)

Yes the double room was a little small but no problem for 3 nights. It's clean and comfy. TV and coffee etc here. FREE wi-fi! (unusual these days!) and parking is easy - if no room in their car park, there is always a space on the road outside. Only 1 small gripe and that is the power of the shower - I pretty much had to run around in it to get wet! if the shower had been good this would have been a 5 rating as I do like a good shower! Water was hot but rubbish pressure.

All in all for a 2 star hotel this was pleasing.& I would use it again.

If you have trouble with the stairs, ask for a ground floor room as no lift - old buildings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doodledonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We used the hotel with our children and grandchildren for a family weekend in Bristol. It was a great location with a bus stop just across the road and many places are within walking distance from the hotel ie Bristol Zoo, Clifton, The Suspension Bridge and down hill all the way to the waterfront, @ Bristol etc.

The building itself is a bit 'tired' in places but all our rooms were fine. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was really good.

All the staff were and helpful and friendly.

I would definitely use this hotel again. It is just a 2 star rating but as good as higher rated hotels hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#30 of 39 in Bristol
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#32 of 39 in Bristol
953 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#33 of 39 in Bristol
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#29 of 39 in Bristol
688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Property: Victoria Square Hotel
Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing