We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but very very Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel is in desperate need of TLC, when they say a small double room they are not joking,
As for the car park well it isnt really, when you get it down to it and find it is full you have to reverse out up a blind hill as you can not turn around.
Please spend some money on it and it could be lovely.
Staff are brilliant but please best western help them out and spend some money are on it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirmfriendsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for the second time recently whilst on a trip to Bristol. I was pleased to note the hotel had raised its game since the first time I stayed a year previously, when it was mediocre at best. It's still a bit limited given the resources at its disposal, but it now makes much better use of them. It's standard "old English" with a fairly average breakfast, but the main thing, for me, that had improved since I first stayed there was the professionalism and helpfulness of the staff, including being happy to suggest I leave my car in the staff car park when I got back late at night and the guests' car park was full.
The hotel has a great location for Clifton Village and is easy to find and the room I had on this visit was very comfortable and well appointed. The only drawback is that there's no lift and the top floor in the main building is up a very narrow flight of stairs. Not an issue for me but disabled people would struggle. But generally ok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrFelixPolenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel for a weekend break and to do some Xmas shopping with some friends. The car park was tiny but we did manage to park. The room was small and the hotel is very tired and a little dated. Nice bathroom but the shower was pathetic(and no bath!). We were in room 210 and all night something (either a cooler or fan system) kept going off every hour. Very noisy outside our window, with that and the traffic and no double glazing! So did not sleep well at all. Breakfast was typical basic hotel. Hot food kept warm in trays and you helped yourself. Some fruit and plain yogurts and cereals to choose from too. Overall for the money very disappointed. This hotel needs some TLC. Best Western is meant to be a good name in hotels. This one lets you down!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Llanigongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night and that's all I could cope with! The main reception and surroundings looked fine, as you would expect from any other hotel. However, my room resembled a storage cupboard. Very small, poorly decorated and not particularly comfortable.

My first encounter was the smell of mould/must as I entered the room, rather strong and unpleasant. I thought it had disappeared by morning however upon going to breakfast and back, it was still going strong!! The bed wasn't that comfortable and it had rather worn looking blankets etc.

I was provided with one large towel and a smaller one. The smaller of which had a few stains on still!

The bathroom, very basic and quite unpleasant again. This is where I think the mould smell originated from.

No plug sockets near the bed, they were placed on the other side of the room.

Furniture looking worn and old.

Breakfast was edible, but although they had full English as well as continental, it pretty much had no taste to it. I'd recommend going to McDonalds!

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again, better hotels with nicer surroundings!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We regularly visit Bristol now, as my daughter is at university there. This hotel is in an excellent location, has extremely friendly staff, and very comfortable rooms. Our room this time was in the main building and was great; both in terms of cleanliness and décor. Our last one was in the second building and the furniture was a bit 'tired', but still extremely comfortable. It is great for walking into Clifton, and super handy for the bus into town. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Good hotel good value for money great breakfast fantastic staff nothing was too much trouble and a great position for partying and enjoying Bristol we will be back.Would also recommend a meal and a few cocktails at Browns wonderful food and great service incredible building loads off atmosphere ,take your time and enjoy,Sunday lunch a good way to finish a weekend in town

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are just that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamp13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay. Comfortable large room. Quiet location. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast from a buffet. Hot and cold. Good selection and as much as you can eat. Lively green leafy location 2 mins wakk feom shops and restaurants of clifton village. Only complaint is that the water pressure was not great and the pipes banged after flushing the loo.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank wantcomfycheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#34 of 39 in Bristol
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#30 of 39 in Bristol
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 39 in Bristol
597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#22 of 39 in Bristol
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: £51 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing