We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a really good base from which to explore Clifton. My room was a little on the small side but it was a single and I was only staying a night, so not really an issue. Having said that,it was warm and comfortable. The staff were really friendly, breakfast was great with a wide choice of food. The only potential drawback was the limited parking, not sure where you'd park if it was full (only 15 spaces) as parking roundabout looked limited too. All in all though would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    216
    103
    44
    23
See reviews for
89
196
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We are from the other side of Bristol and wanted a night out in clifton village without the travel home so decided to book in at the Western. We arrived and got upgraded and given a late check out free of charge! GREAT START! After our night out we arrived back at the hotel, rooms were perfect with a fab sized bed and great en suite. coffee facilities were available and freeview television. No noise and a wonderful nights sleep to wake up and have a breakfast included in the price which was lovely. As parents to 4 children, we are going to make it a once a month tradition at the Western.
Looking forward to staying again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kirp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Best Western say their hotels have personality, and this is certainly true of the Victoria Square Hotel, and in a good way. Very welcoming and helpful receptionist, and the room I had on the lower ground was very spacious - it felt more like being a guest in a well-appointed house than staying in a hotel.

I only stayed one night and would have liked to have stayed longer.

The breakfast was excellent.

It's not close to Temple Meads for rail travellers, but the number 8 bus from the station will drop you right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Excellent weekend break in a perfect location for Clifton. Greeted by very friendly and helpful staff. Ample parking which otherwise is at a premium in Clifton. Really good full English breakfast included in the rate. We had an upgrade of room which was large, comfortable and clean. Only minor criticism would be the water pressure wasn't particularly strong in the shower. We will definitely book again when next visiting Bristol.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smsburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The hotel is in two large and attractive old Georgian style Victorian houses, with modern decor. There is some parking on site, maybe 10 or 12 spaces, but the surrounding area seemed full of parked cars with little space. It is in a beautiful part of town, with plenty of pubs and bars nearby, and the lovely suspension bridge 5 minutes walk away.
I had a lovely large double aspect room, decorated with arty photos of the Clifton bridge. It was up a couple of flights of pretty steep stairs. Great training, but if you struggle with stairs maybe look elsewhere or at least ask for a room on a lower floor. The bathroom was clean and tidy, slightly worn seeming, with a shower only, which had disappointingly low water pressure. The bed was firmish, comfy, with crisp white linen. Sadly the restaurant was closed in the evening. Breakfast was a continental style buffet, and just fine. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boz194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked a family room, very comfortable, spacious, clean and quiet.
The location is great. The car park was full when we arrived, but close to the hotel are car parks, free of charges. There are no lifts, so be prepared to carry your luggages upstairs. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner, as the soap was very harsh.
The full english breakfast is excellent and included in the booking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 37 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Property: Victoria Square Hotel
Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing