We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We chose this hotel to be near my son for a short visit. It was a bit tricky to find and the car park entrance is only marked from one direction so we missed it the first time round. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and tidy and the hotel is a very short walk to Clifton village which is charming. We will stay there again. We had a superior double which was about the right size. The only thing missing was a fridge, otherwise a comfortable enjoyable stay. I also think it should rate a 3 star.

Room Tip: Bring you own toiletries, shampoo etc as they do provide a shower gel that washes hair too but I pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed at the hotel on Good Friday. As you walk up the steps to the door there is a 2 star sign, I think this is a little harsh and should be a 3 star hotel, as I have stayed in not so nice 3 star hotels. My husband had called to ensure we had a lower level room as I am 7 months pregnant, and their web site warns about steep staircases, they are not wrong, and they organised one got us and were very helpful. The room was slightly small, but we had been told it was a smaller room, but it had a very large bed in it which was very comfortable, and the bathroom had a separate shower which was better for me, the only disappointment is that the room does not have air conditioning, but it was very clean and ample facilities. The breakfast was very nice, although I only had continental. There was a very good selection. For a weekend away this is a very nice hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is really not a bad place to stay and I think would suit many travellers, especially those looking for a small friendly B and B style hotel with a family run atmosphere. It is set in a beautiful square and right next to the lovely village of Clifton. A taxi from Temple Meads station was only around £10. If you like a building with a bit of English charm it certainly has that, if in a little need of some TLC. The reception and breakfast waiting staff were extremely helpful and accommodating .The room was clean if a little jaded but the bathroom was spotless and very modern. If you struggle with stairs ask to be on a lower floor and for help with your luggage.

A few very small small 'quirks'. The shower looked amazing but water came out at a dribble or more exactly a drizzle- it took ages to wash my hair. I was in the annex and would ask to be in the main building where possible especially in winter to avoid a walk in the cold to get to breakfast but that is really a small point. The buffet breakfast was excellent value and good when it came but seemed very disorganised in the kitchen. The selection was limited, which was fine as it is a small hotel. There were only a few guests, but it seemed a constant surprise in the kitchen when things ran out- eggs, croissants coffee- so to put together a full breakfast took some time! I was in Bristol for work so this was more important, but if you are happy to plan for a leisurely breakfast it is not a problem.
This is certainly somewhere that is good value and which I would recommend for a quiet leisurely weekend away to someone who wants gentle friendly service in a fairly traditional English style small hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplebaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

An amazing location with amazing service. I was obliged a nicer room as I'm newly engaged and also a slightly later check out after a late night, as I had requested in advance.

The reception team were so helpful over the phone to find the location driving in from London, and very knowledgeable and willing to share info about what to do in the area to make the most of the weekend.

I will defo stay here again.

Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pkanani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank I P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in an old building, lovely area. Most of the staff are very kind and accommodating. No lift and many stairs, which are narrower the higher you go. Clean, well-appointed rooms. Clean bathroom but the fan connected to the light (no independent off switch) does nothing to reduce steam; it just creates annoying noise pollution. Very poor water pressure in shower. Free WiFi (should be free in every hotel) but it's horribly weak (mostly unusable) on 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#33 of 39 in Bristol
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 39 in Bristol
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#34 of 39 in Bristol
589 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: £51 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing