We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for Bristol visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    237
    113
    47
    25
See reviews for
98
216
36
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

On arrival we were told that we had to be located on the top floor rm 225, if the stairs were a problem we could be relocated to a smaller room in the annex. Being fairly agile 60 somethings we decided on rm 225, however we hadn't anticipated the narrow dark stairs (the lights did not work), the sloping ceiling (my husband is over six foot), the hole in the wall, the smallest shower in the world, lumpy pillows and being the attic room it appeared to be home to the cistern for the entire hotel which was constantly filling in the morning. I could go on but needless to say we will not be returning despite having a reasonable breakfast. Another reviewer has mentioned a bit of wear and tear which perhaps a polite way of saying there is a lack of maintenance and care.

Room Tip: Unable to advise due to a very negative experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Always ignored this hotel on my visits to Bristol - only two star and some poor reviews on sizes of rooms. Took the gamble and booked here; glad I did. Very clean and beautifully kept and breakfast was quality. Negatives: it's an old building so don't expect aircon and a lift - carrying luggage up two flights is a hassle. Parking can be a bit of a squeeze. Positives: friendly reception and friendly breakfast staff; room was modern e.g. down-lighters, flat screen TV and clean shower/en suite. I would stay here again (unless I had loads of luggage when I would look to a hotel with a lift - if there are any in Clifton).

Room Tip: Book a "larger room" and hopefully you'll have no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmboBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely building in a great location, though in the public rooms there is a bit of wear and tear. The staff I met were cheerful and helpful and the WiFi was fast and reliable. Breakfast was OK if you don't mind bacon, eggs etc. that were cooked a while ago, there is a great view of Victoria Park through the front and a rather pretty graveyard to the back. But no excuse can be made for the dire sausages.

I was offered an upstairs room in the annex or down stairs - I chose the latter, room 205. This was below reception so I could hear movement from above all night and I could hear everything from the room next door. I am a good sleeper but this would be a real problem for most people.

In short, avoid 205/206, skip breakfast and walk across the square to The Albion or one of the delis for breakfast and this becomes an OK place to stay overnight.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hayrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madliena, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My daughter, husband and I stayed at the Victoria Square Hotel last weekend. The hotel is in a great location in the lovely Clifton area and the rooms are basic but clean (why do hotels never give you enough coat hangers and shelving space - and a disposable shower cap in our bathroom would have been nice). Our room on the ground floor faced a busy road and was quite noisy, and the quality of our mattress could have been better. Kasia and Agata, the Front Reception staff, are great and so helpful, as are the breakfast team. We have another booking in July with friends and I'm happy to stay at the hotel again due to it's helpful staff and excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I had an appointment in Clifton so wanted to stay in the village area close by. We booked late and there was not much availability locally but wanted to stay in one of the classical old buildings. This came up, looked the part so we took a chance, but looks can be deceiving. The first good part was the off street parking. I understand that this can be limited but we got there early so had no problem. We lugged our cases up the stairs to reception to find that we were allocated a room in the building next door. In the photos it looks like one large old house but it isn't, its two. Odd, no problem for us but could cause difficulties for some and it was a good job it was not raining! The room was on the first floor and it was massive. I think it may have originally been a drawing or dining room with huge windows and swag curtains, a large marble fireplace etc. So far so good. Then we started looking around, on plugging my phone in to charge I noticed the socket almost hanging off the wall. Quite a few stains on the carpet by the door and one of the headboards was also hanging down. The beds were two singles pushed together which is not unusual but the duvet was on inside out and the sheet didn't fit as it was probably only for a double and this needed a super king. Sensing problems in sleeping my wife went to reception to sort it out and was offered another sheet. We then had to make the beds ourselves and even then the second sheet didn't fit end to end only around the sides!! We went out for dinner so can't comment on the evening meal. Returning for a good nights sleep I found that when we had turned out the lights the internet modem on the ceiling was continually flashing blue and with the smoke alarm showing red it seemed like we had landing lights on the ceiling.
We were also awoken at 5.00 by two very loud guys in the hall outside discussion the days business which we had to ask to be quiet. Not the hotels fault but it just added to everything.
Breakfast was back in the other building so as it was freezing outside we had to nip quickly over to the restaurant room. Breakfast was fine. Plenty of choice and when we asked for fresh eggs they arrived without any problem.
I can't quite work out if the room we stayed in was for another purpose and just had a bed thrown in to accommodate us. Either way the size didn't make up for its shortcomings. So great location, good but limited parking, nice breakfast, odd layout and poor room and housekeeping service.

Room Tip: Take a brolly just in case. Arrive early for parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobilemess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have just returned from an overnight stay in Room 245 if this hotel. Room at its widest point is just wide enough for the single bed lengthways! No bedside lamp. Dirty Carpet and ill-fitting door. Room is more of a cupboard than a room. No pictures of soft furnishings at all and felt like a prison cell. Soap dispenser not working in shower room. Seems like hotel were being greedy upon design and halved each room in order to accomodate more guests. When approached receptionist, she was unable to make eye contact, did not apologise for our dissatisfaction, told us that this is what we should expect for the money and suggested we have a refund and go and stay at the local hostel. A great way to treat your customers. As professionals staying for a business meeting, this is not the way we expect to be treated. We will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Just dont stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.

For the benefit of any potential guests reading this review I would just like to clarify that room 245 is a single room, of which there are 3 in the hotel. The remaining 39 rooms in the hotel are a range of Small doubles, Standard doubles, Large doubles, and Family rooms and prices vary according to each room. The 3 single rooms are small as this reviewer points out, however this means we are able to price them very competitively for the area so they are ideal for solo travellers on a budget. However they aren’t for everyone due to the size, in which case one of our double rooms may prove more appropriate. Our friendly reception team are on hand for any room enquiries and are more than happy to go into detail regarding the room types on offer 01179 739058 (7am – 11pm) or info@victoriasquarehotel.co.uk

Best regards,

Michael Hamilton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#30 of 39 in Bristol
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#32 of 39 in Bristol
953 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#33 of 39 in Bristol
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#29 of 39 in Bristol
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Property: Victoria Square Hotel
Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing