We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Avoid.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I made a mistake and believed the online photos were representative of WHOLE place. Maybe (?) some of the rooms are as depicted in their online photos but mine WAS NOT. I had a family room, which had one double and one single bed in it. Whole location was shabby but they'd tried to update it in parts. The shower was basically a dribble. Shower doors needed some maintenance and everything about the place showed slow neglect of the facilities. The funniest/saddest part of all was the "car park". Yes, people had parked cars there but it was so difficult to negotiate in and out of when full that I'm grateful i did it in daylight and in summer weather. Otherwise I might've bashed into something or become stuck in their car park. There were decent restaurants nearby but for the price and the quality of the hotel I'd simply recommend "avoid, there are better hotels than this, anywhere"

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFromEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    216
    103
    44
    23
See reviews for
89
196
34
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

room was ok size, huge bathroom, nice big towels, friendly staff, could have used something to set luggage on, other than that - great overall hotel. Breakfast was included in the price which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank fodanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The staff are fab - friendly - helpful and knowlegeable
The location is right in the centre of Clifton bordered by
2 nice green public areas - easy walking distance into town
10 mins to the art gallery and museum (worth a visit)
15 mins to town centre -easy and downhill -
we had a big clean room overlooking garden and trees
free parking
ace value for Clifton - just right for a short break

Room Tip: just ask for a quiet room - if you are in the 2nd building - ask for a room on an upper floor not th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had stayed at Victoria square some years ago, but this visit did not impress as we thought that for the price paid it was very average , the hotel needs some updating and at breakfast the tables were set too close together as the room had been divided off due to a daily external training course taking up part of the breakfast room. Probably we would not stay here again, however the location is excellent being so close to Clifton and Bristol.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel while attending a festival at Ashton Court. The hotel was very conveniently situated in the lovely Clifton Village. Very close to the centre of Bristol, which is an easy downhill walk!
The hotel itself was a pleasant surprise - our room was spacious and clean, and obviously recently redecorated. Breakfast was varied and tasty, Staff were also friendly and helpful. Overall we were surprised by the 2 star rating thinking it deserves more!!
Our friends however had a different experience as their room was not newly decorated so ensure you request a newly refurbished room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 37 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Property: Victoria Square Hotel
Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing