We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you expect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Toad Lodge Guest House
Ranked #24 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you expect”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Toad lodge is a clean, cheap, and simple B&B near the centre of Bristol. The room that I had was enormous, with sink, telly, and tea facilities, and a shared toiler/shower. The breakfast was fine (cooked or cereals). Difficult to fault it really, unless you are expecting to get an en-suite in this price range.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    15
    5
    8
    16
See reviews for
7
26
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Despite the mixed reviews we decided to stay and make our own decision. Don't expect 4 star hotel treatment but an interesting stay. So, yes the bedrooms are fairly basic but ours was clean and quiet, decor not to our taste but I wasn't intending staying permanently. Breakfast was good, though I would have liked fruit and yoghurt to be offered, and contra to what someone else said, I had very good scrambled eggs. Chris (the breakfast waiter and chamber maid) was really friendly and served breakfast with real style.

So if you want somewhere cheap, handy for the city, quiet and quirky give it a try....

Room Tip: Some rooms are ensuite others have bathrooms shared between two bedrooms. All bedrooms have single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goin2doit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravedona, Lago di Como
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Where do I start? The car on blocks with no wheels beside the general piles of debris in front of the house made us sufficiently wary that we left our cases in the car as we went to the door. The landlady echoed the scary theme so I asked to see the room before signing in. As we headed upstairs she shouted up "it's number 3, but if you don't like it I don't care!" The room was well below average so we left to find somewhere else to stay.

It was graduation week in Bristol so it took us another 5 hours and many many miles but - no regrets - we couldn't have stayed there. Be warned.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank WoodieinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Manchester, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was my third stay at Toad Lodge. Location is perfect for the Centre, the University and for Clifton and is very safe to walk in at night. The staff are friendly. The rooms are clean, large, warm and furniture is in good condition. The shared bathroom was also very clean. The breakfast was excellent and the landlady even let one of the guests keep some food in the refrigerator downstairs for later. In addition it is the lowest priced bed and breakfast in the area. Would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelly711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Location was only a 10 minute walk into the city.
Lots of food and bars a few minutes away.
Was able to park on forecourt
Breakfast was from 8am which was quite late for me. The food however was excellant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Quirky indeed. We needed a room for the night before going to Bristol in preparation for a gig. We found this place, but also found some bad reviews to go with it... Nevertheless we thought we'd go for it as it was just somewhere to sleep for a reasonable price in a fairly central location. And we have no regrets!
Yes it was, as I said... quirky; what with the mounds of ornaments which filled the place, kids bed sheets with frog (or toad) pattern all over them, the sense of walking into your grandmas cluttered yet cosy living room when heading down for breakfast, and the old-school stair-lift which escalates up the grande circular stair-case (anyone who has seen the Capser movie, I relate it to the one in that which takes you down to his lab...) But the people were friendly, there was a butler service for breakfast... I kid you not, an actual, properly spoken butler with tops and tails and everything!
It all added to the experience. It may not be everyones cup of tea, but as mentioned the staff were lovely, there was no noise/interruptions whilst trying to sleep, it is within walking distance to Bristol centre and you get served breakfast... what more do you need :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aOverEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Friendly helpful staff with clean large rooms and close to town (~10min walk), We stayed in a room without a bathroom but we had our own sink and shared the bathroom with one other room. The breakfast is fantastic and included in the prise.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DushanJugum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
Westfield House
#26 of 52 in Bristol
15 reviews
1.9 mi away
Norfolk Guest House
Norfolk Guest House
#23 of 52 in Bristol
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alderman Apartments Beaufort House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Lodge Guest House

Property: Toad Lodge Guest House
Address: 12 Cotham Park | Cotham, Bristol BS6 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Toad Lodge Guest House Hotel Bristol
Toad Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing