We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere - good food”

Marco's Olive Branch Italian Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #137 of 1,565 Restaurants in Bristol
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Friday night after work - went to the restaurant for a pre concert meal and was pleasantly surprised at how busy and light the restaurant was. Food was traditional Italian fare. Good for groups of 4 or 6. Attentive staff. Handy location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharfieldPTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    122
    53
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A taste of Sardinia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have eaten here several times over the last couple of months and have never been disappointed. The food is delicious and the staff really friendly and welcoming. The restaurant offers the regular Italian dishes but it is well worth trying the Sardinian specials. After the usual chains it is refreshing to find an independent gem like this. This is now one of our favourite restaurants in our home town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zen123102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great welcome; cheerful, friendly and smiling staff. Brilliant food – the best Italian food outside Italy – well, Sardinia, anyway. We went two nights running to see if the first was a one-off. Not at all. Lovely atmosphere.

Only complaint – it seems impossible to speak to anyone to book a table, and it’s obvious that you really do need to book. I am always chary of places that ask you to leave a number and “promise” to ring you back… I tried twice booking from abroad - as I was travelling - and only got the answerphone both times. If they could sort this out – they would be completely
unbeatable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Was expecting more.
Weekday night, we had set menu and house red. Tuna salad was just about adequate but dull. Melon and ham was ok.
Pork in rosemary sauce was dry and reminded me of school dinners. Veg was adequate. Crackling was lovely :)
The service was polite but sketchy at best. The waiter hit my partner in her face with a plate by not watching where he was going.
For less than a tenner per head it was bearable but there was nothing about the experience that would tempt me back.

Helpful?
1 Thank esramalarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real Sardinian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our party of eight had the most wonderful afternoon. My Sardinian boyfriend was truly happy to have found this place, and my British friends got a real taste of Sardinia. The food was excellent and the hosts were fantastic. There was real passion and pride in the produce. We will all be going back again, and taking other people with us who missed out this time!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marco's Olive Branch Italian Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Marco's Olive Branch Italian Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing