We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the old bus!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of M Shed

M Shed
Ranked #13 of 193 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See amazing film and photographs, listen to moving personal stories, encounter rare and quirky objects and add your own memories of Bristol through the interactive displays. From prehistoric times to the present day, M Shed tells the story of the city and its unique place in the world.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the old bus!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Took two grandchildren aged 4 and 3. They spent at least An hour jumping on and off and running up and down the stairs and ringing the bell. They were worn out. Went for lunch and then they asked to go back again. Free entry and good cafe.
Very interesting exhibits for grow ups too, about bristol through the ages, including a huge map on the floor and bridges to turn.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank grangemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    423
    153
    49
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not great...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The best part about the M Shed is that it's free! I wouldn't have been happy if I'd paid as it was unimpressive. Found myself getting very bored, it needs more exciting exhibits and it's not very well set out. We sadly had more fun waving at the seagull sat outside the window :/ However I think it's great for Bristol to have the M Shed... it's probably more suited to people who don't know Bristol already. Worth a look as it's free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank StacieLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wallace and Gromit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

What more can I say,the title says it all! Great exhibition!Original sets from the films,some fun interactive bits and bobs.Allow an hour to go round.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Salop2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“school trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Our trip to the Mshed Was educational to US students to know what happened. In past about great Britain people, historic events. Like World war 2 when the people are bidding for the Germans in their Garden To avoid Being shot by the Germans.
The museum was helpful and we learned about the events happened in the past.
We all enjoyed it and we hope to go back to the MShed again.
We would like to our school for letting us go with a responsible teacher, thank you EC Bristol. :-)

Helpful?
Thank Fayez A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverkusen, Germany
Level Contributor
857 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Visit the ultimate Wallace & Gromit experience at the M Shed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were keen to get some of the Bristol Wallace & Gromit experience and we were pleased to discover an exhibition dedicated to the intrepid duo in the M Shed. Located on the top floor, this exhibition is rather modest but captures the essence of the W & G mood. The mock ups of some of the sets are really remarkable and bring our heroes to life. I was a bit disappointed about the relatively high price to get in. But for true fans this is a little mecca. We also took some time to marvel at the views from the top of this old “shed” on the wharf.
Unfortunately we were on a tight schedule and didn’t find the time to explore the rest of the museum but we have to leave something for a future visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eyekaytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed M Shed also viewed

 

Been to M Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing