We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value especialy with ice cream voucher”

Toby Carvery Maes Knoll
Ranked #879 of 1,668 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Bristol's favourite carvery restaurant.
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

we have always been pleased with the food and service. we tend to go weekday afternoons when rarely busy. dont forget the often available free ice cream sundae voucher. i like the yorkshire puds the best

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank keithdetton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Maes Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, we have only recently been given the ability to respond to reviews so we are sorry its taken so long for a response, we are now under new management and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 266 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We visited the Toby Carvery today. We haven't been for a couple of years and remembered today why! First of all we were surprised to have to pay and display in the restaurant car park!!! Lucky we had £2 in change on us! In fairness this was repayable on payment of the bill but still! The food is OK, but the Carvery price has gone up to £9.50 which is extortionate for mass produced food with little taste! We won't be returning. We have used it previously for convenience but with the cost as it is now I would rather drive somewhere further for a decent roast about the same price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beryl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Maes Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, we have only recently been given the ability to respond to reviews so we are sorry its taken so long for a response, we are now under new management and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Place is just dirty. All the seats in the place no longer have any colour or pattern as they shine with dirt and grease. The two round family tables, in front of the food counter both smell of urine and has done for the past 6 month or so and I'm not the only one who is a regular visitors to this place will tell you. Tables are not washed and are sticky, just wiped over with a dirty rag, never seen a bottle or spray of disinfectant used, ever! so gods know what germs are on each table. One female waitress who shows you to your table is in pictular disinterested in her job and make you know it! Rude and miserable, any regular will know who im writing about. I would have to disagree with one reviewer about the tall chef who cuts your meat as he is always friendly and happy to help, I feel he is under a lot of pressure most of the time, when the line is almost out the door especially when he is out of meat as he don't get much help in my opinion. The food sometimes can be dry with no flavour and when I get to have mine dished out, i find most of the food gone or waiting around until it's cooked which in most cases you just give up and take what is left. Sometimes the serving spoons feel a bit greasy as when a new batch of food comes out the same plastic spoon is just put back in, looks like the same spoon is used all day! So how many people are touching that spoon in one day? I know what some readers might say " why do You keep going back?" well the price! and sometime the convenience but no more. Can't deal with the bad stomach in the evening and the thought " why did I go back?" yes the price is cheap but so is any fast food joint, and the staff are friendly and you get to eat at a clean table. The whole place needs a makeover and staff retrained.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Pringle4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Maes Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, we have only recently been given the ability to respond to reviews so we are sorry its taken so long for a response, we are now under new management and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I am amazed that this Carvery has some bad reviews! I have been several times and have no bad reviews at all. The waiting staff are always friendly and helpful but sometimes the chef can be a little unfriendly. Please, put this in perspective,however, because he has a thankless task and I have seen customers who barely say,"please and thank-you" As for thin portions what do you expect for £5.75!!! If you are not happy with the portion one can always ask for a little more. I am not sure that it will be given as I have never asked. If you go for Sunday Lunch the price is £9.95 but get there early because I had to wait 45 mins. for a table at 12.35!! However,I thought it was well worth it and enjoyed every mouthful.
There are three Toby Carvery's in Bristol and this is the best of the three in my opinion mostly because there is no need to pay until your meal is finished, which I prefer. On my last visit I decided to have a pudding on, which there is a £1 discount if a main meal has been taken, and chose crumble and custard which was very good although not very good for an overweight diabetic!!
My advice is to visit yourself because I don't think that you will be disappointed but perhaps look elsewhere if you need a fine dining experience. Excellent value for money in my opinion with superb choice of vegetables and meat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Maes Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, we have only recently been given the ability to respond to reviews so we are sorry its taken so long for a response, we are now under new management and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I took two friends for lunch. Boy O Boy what a mistake !, the tall carvery chef was rude and belligerent, with as much class as torn wallpaper. This so called chef carved the meat so thin you could read a news paper through it,the veg and more to the point the roast potatoes were dried up. After serving us this carvery chef left the counter to sit with his rough looking mates at a high table in the shabby bar. We should have been suspicious, for when we entered we were the only customers wanting to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Tarquin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Maes Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, we have only recently been given the ability to respond to reviews so we are sorry its taken so long for a response, we are now under new management and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Maes Knoll also viewed

Almondsbury, Gloucestershire
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Toby Carvery Maes Knoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing