We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brekkie”

Toby Carvery Maes Knoll
Ranked #946 of 1,733 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: US$10 - US$13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Bristol's favourite carvery restaurant.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just had a full english breakfast at the Toby in Whitchurch, on way to Bristol Airport. Good value for money, reasonable choice of food. Only let down was that some plates not clean. Location of Toby is ideal for the airport, now we are set up for our flight to Tenerife.

Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Maes Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, we have only recently been given the ability to respond to reviews so we are sorry its taken so long for a response, we are now under new management and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 244 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

DONT BOTHER,MANAGER ALISTAIR not interested in a booking for 14 people on xmas day even tho menus are out, could only book table for 4pm would not accommodate for an earlier booking even tho we had children. So would rather lose out on nearly £600 than accommodate seems to me the wrong people in the wrong job, have now pre booked at the wessex flyer for 2.30 even tho their menus are not out yet, That's what you call customer service, I'm sure we will enjoy our xmas lunch no thanks to ALISTAIR

2  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Maes Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

We have replied to you personally following your recent comments left on Trip Advisor. We aim to improve and your feedback will help us to achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We come here fairly often and find that Toby staff tend to cram everyone in a certain space rather than letting people decide where to sit.

However, we have noticed definite improvement in the service. Previous visits have been let down by there being not enough staff but I have now seen a couple of new staff members who I think are more helpful and more efficient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank keithdetton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Maes Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, we have only recently been given the ability to respond to reviews so we are sorry its taken so long for a response, we are now under new management and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Better off eating at home....veg was dry and like school dinners...meat was dry...pudding was all apple and no crumble..staff vacant

Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Maes Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and we are working hard at getting it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

been here a few times. food is nice but 2 main concerns. the main seating area is very cramped tables are too close to eachother. they should take out 4 tables and make use of the further seating area which they tend to close off most of the time. Service could be a lot better. stop cleaning cutlery in the dining area (this should be in the kitchen) and we saw a young man cleaning the cutlery oblivious to the fact we had been waiting a long time for someone to clear our plates and ask us if we wanted dessert. Either the staff are not well trained or the manager needs to be sacked and a more competent one brought in. wrote a complaint last year about staff attitude to head office and got a £20 gift card so i urge fellow guests to complain if not satisfied. A lady on 2 tables down also was complaining to this young man about service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hotelinspector1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Maes Knoll, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback, we have only recently been given the ability to respond to reviews so we are sorry its taken so long for a response, we are now under new management and we hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Maes Knoll also viewed

 

Been to Toby Carvery Maes Knoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing