We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed by the staff”
Review of The Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington
Ranked #8 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very impressed by the staff”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Came in a couple of weeks ago looking for somewhere to watch the Heineken Cup quarter finals. Although not being shown at the Pub the staff where hugely helpful in directing my friend and I as to where to go to find the rugby. Made a point to come back after the Rugby had finished and put some money behind the bar. Have since been in a number of times for drinks and the pub and its staff have been nothing short of excellent everytime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagrid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Hagrid14,

Thanks so much for your kind review, I do believe we've got a great little team here and I'm so happy you've shared this experience on Trip Advisor!

See you before too long we hope.

All the best,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    47
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
36
51
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on business in Bristol
When we got here I wasn't too sure about the looks but once inside it's a different matter. The room we stayed in was excellent, and the en-suite was great. The staff were all very attentive, friendly and efficient. The meals served in the pub were really good and it seems a very popular place to be for locals also. Could not hear any noise from pub when it the rooms, but we were in a road side room and you could hear the traffic but not enough that we couldn't sleep. Continental breakfast was full of fresh fruit, breads and yogurt lovely way to start the day (cooked breakfast was available also)

Room Tip: Not sure if you can request one not on road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi magsonhol,

Looks can be deceptive can't they, but we know for sure once people take the plunge and head in, there're in for a treat. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us!

Hope to see you again.

All the best,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Wellington is just one of those lovely places which whilst being consistently good value with fantastic service always manages to surprise you with its menu and keep you coming back rather than sticking to the 'old favourites'. For a Sunday Roast it takes a lot of beating, its dessert menu is always spot on, sophisticated without being too avant-garde for the welcoming, family pub it is.
We came here last weekend for a low-key supper after a hard days DIY and the pie & mash,venison and beetroot tarte tatin didn't disappoint our group of 5 hungry workers with very disparate tastes in food. A real gem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Claire I,

A big thank you from all at the Welly for your lovely review, so glad we get it so right for you.

Hope to see you soon,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We came to Bristol for the weekend and chose to stay here as, although not central, it had good recent reviews.

Upon arrival, the pub was already busy but the staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in room 1 and were impressed with the size of the bathroom – one of the best we have had – and we have stayed in a lot of pubs!

The food in the restaurant that evening was reasonably priced and tasty pub food. The service was good even though the pub and restaurant were busy, especially when the football finished (the pub is near Bristol Rovers’ ground). We were able to try a couple of wines before deciding on our final choice.

We had an excellent night’s sleep and enjoyed our cooked breakfast. It was a little confusing from the card on the table if we were expected to pay for it, although there was a big choice of food from the “pantry” table which the card indicated was included in the room price. It transpired that the cooked breakfast was indeed included.

Very much enjoyed our night here and would return if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter; we were not disturbed at all in Room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuntyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Lee1964,

The one that got away... Our mistake however! Unfortunately the full English isn't part of the included breakfast but this one slipped our net, hope you enjoyed it.

Really great to hear the rest of your stay was as enjoyable & that you had such a good sleep!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Thanks to James who went out of his way along with the other staff to make our stay very enjoyable. Spotless rooms, very friendly, good food and beer sampling!..if you want the character of an Inn with the quality of 4 star rooms you won't go far wrong here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Mark D,

What a charming review... Glad you enjoyed yourself so much & we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Friends took my wife and I for a midweek lunch at the Wellington - what a pleasant suprise. The beer was good and the food was excellent. I thought the menu really quite impressive. I went for the Mediteranean fish stew on the Specials board - nicely served, great taste (and with rouille!)
Waitress and bar staff were friendly (and so were the other customers).
Cons - the mulled cider was not available while we were there!
Pros - lots, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickoShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi RickoShaw,

Thanks for your review. Apologies about the mulled cider, it'll certainly be ready for your next visit!

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol - UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife an I have visited the Wellington on several occasions now for Sunday lunch.
We have tried both the beef and pork and both were very well cooked. A decent veg portion arrives in separate bowl with a nice mix of veg.
Service has been good even when obviously very busy. The price is on par with other pubs in the area but for our taste it is the nicest.
We also had the cheese board, the smoked cheddar is wonderful.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy-Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Hi Andy-Thompson,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and such a glowing one too. All of our meat is sourced from the UK's number one butcher, all the veg is locally sourced and our servers are a great bunch!

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
2.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
2.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington

Property: The Wellington
Address: Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing