We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Chinese food in Bristol?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotcha

Hotcha
Ranked #1,250 of 1,565 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fast food
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese food in Bristol?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Hotch Baldwin Street managed to deliver me the worst Chinese food I've ever had.... Twice.
The first time they sent overcooked, bland, watery noodles with nothing in them and burnt chicken balls.
Being the type to give them the benefit of the doubt I called customer services and ket them re-deliver. The ensuing food was, if anything, worse than the first.
Horrible, horrible, horrible. Avoid.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    12
    11
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Once really great, now down-hill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I don't know what happened, but Hotcha used to be the best Chinese I have visited. However, over 2013 they got quietly worse, cheaper, and committed the cardinal sin of telling a customer they were lying -- I'd ordered stuff on line and it didn't all come. When I questioned it they said I'd never ordered it. I showed them the receipt and they apologised... but no other recompense for their mistake (the item was delivered TWO HOURS later!). It doesn't take a scientist to know why that experience was bad customer service. Unfortunately, it's very characteristic of them overall now, and after the last delivery took two hours to get to me and my friends we vowed that we'd given them enough chances. It's just confusing to me how the company has gone so bad so quick. Over expansion?
I would like to leave one positive note - their satay sauce is the best I've had, and the last order we had it was still as good. So there is a bright side to the cloud I suppose.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JeremiahEcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The mighty have fallen!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

When this place opened it was a God send. Freshly made, authentic Chinese food poured into big portions made you return time after time. But then the profit hungry Managers began to scrimp and save, cutting corner after corner and leaving what can only be described as a second rate burger van kitchen. Having returned just this week I was appalled by the 'new' dinner time menu. No longer are meals fresh, the beef & blackbean dish has been replaced with microwave food, and the staff would look more at home behind bars.

Shocking, disgusting and so, so sad to see such a promising opening ruined in the quest for cash. No stars - if such a thing was possible.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Ordered online and delivery took 90 minutes instead of the estimated 40; the delivery man was incoherent and failed to find the address twice. This could be forgiven if the food was good when it arrived, however it was appallingly bad. It seemed like a mixture of old and new noodles making it mushy and bland. Barely any meat and the various assorted veg was also tasteless. I am really disappointed and feel I could have cooked something better myself and I am by no means a chef. Will NEVER buy from here EVER AGAIN.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SEFD94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quality of food has dramatically dropped recently”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

i used to really like Hotcha but this past month the food has been terrible!! Barely any sauce on the lemon chicken - barely any meat in the Singapore noodles (basically they were plain & bland) the chicken satay skewers were well over cooked & the ribs had no meat on!!
the price is now too high for the very poor recent quality. I have given you 3 chances the past month (since the quality nosedived) & awful on every occasion. we've since found 2x much better Chinese takeaways local.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank gemf1pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotcha also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Hotcha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing