We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic - catered for every whim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were lucky enough to book the last available room at Hotel Du Vin in Bristol after we were let down by another Bristol hotel which will remain nameless. It was my partner's birthday and we really wanted to treat ourselves. From the moment we spoke to reservations, who rescued us from temporary homelessness on the streets of Bristol, we were blown away by the level of attention to detail at the hotel. Our room was exquisite, with a well stocked mini-bar, gorgeous wine and the one of the most indulgent bathrooms I have ever seen. We were also pleased to find that the room was incredibly well sound-proofed due to a massive streetparty happening directly opposite the hotel.

We ate in the restaurant twice, at dinner and breakfast, and on both occasions felt thoroughly spoilt. Wonderful wine, incredible food and brilliant service. No sooner did we think of something that we would like, it was at our table without needing to ask. It seems as though the staff are all programmed to decipher the needs of their guests before they think of them themselves.

All in all, an absolutely brilliant trip. We will happily return again and again.

Room Tip: We had a large room, but are very keen to try the suites. I get the impression that there isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charliesangel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had a great stay for a weekend to celebrate a big birthday - friendly and helpful staff , huge beds , fantastic bathrooms / showers / baths and a real buzz in the bar at night.

Rooms perhaps slightly dark if you are staying in - but we were not.

Room Tip: compare the slight differences in size and price carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flynn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed staying here, although like others had noted previously that some rooms had looked a little tired. I have always found service to be very good and the staff friendly. On this occassion our room was clean, well maintained and had everything we needed.

The Bistro, as usual was very good and is worth staying here for the experience of dining alone . The menu left us pondering for a while as the selection on offer made for a difficult choice and the wine menu as you would expect is extensive. In the end my chosen starter of scallop ceviche was clean vibrant and fresh, whilst my lamb was cooked to perfection. My dinner companion's Tiger Prawns wrapped in pancetta were superb and looked amazing and for main an unusual choice of onglet steak proved to be a good one. Would recommend trying this uusual cut.

On the negative side although a wide range of breakfat choices are available (and very tasy) there is an extra payment for a cooked breakfast. This is a little steep considering the overall cost of the room.

Overall a great hotel and Bistro- Will definitely return

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gem012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have stayed here several times before and loved it. I think we have always had a superior room before and last time we were upgraded to a deluxe so have always had huge rooms and space.

This time I booked a standard room with king sized bed and it was a tiny pokey little room (Echinata something like that) 3rd floor back with attic ceiling over the bed which made it very hard to get in and out of the right side of the bed (and I am only 5'5") had to crawl in and out. So stupid as they have put their standard bedside table on the left side which takes up so much room, there is none on the right side and no lamp. With just a little thought they could provide a narrower table on the left side to enable the bed to move over a little so that the right side would have space for a table and a lamp.... no genius required. We are beginning to realise just how formulaic the chain is, same food same furniture even if it doesn't fit! Usual good bathroom, huge and actually too big for this room - would be better to give over some of the space to the room.

I also would have thought it was good business practice to see who is a return visitor and give them a decent room!

Has really put us off especially as we had just visited the branch in Winchester which was very disappointing, still like the Mal Maison in Leeds though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5492Cardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My Husband and I are regular guests at Hotel Du Vin Bristol and absolutely adore the understated luxury of this boutique hotel. Totally understated, from the outside you could drive past and not even realise it is there. Walk in off the street and you find yourself in a tree adorned courtyard totally hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the city streets. Very french, very Du Vin. Having stayed at a number of the hotels in the Du Vin portfolio of properties (Harrogate, Brighton and Edinburgh), Bristol is by far our favourite. The hotel is a sympathetically restored building, originally a sugar refinery and the architects have clearly retained its most noble features with bedrooms and suites that are reminiscent of New York loft apartments complete with exposed brick and sturdy iron pillars in rooms that are minimalistic in their decor . We always choose to stay in Beringer (rooms are named after wines), one of the luxury range of rooms - and well worth the additional cost. Egyptian cotton linen bedding, a waterfall shower, a huge freestanding roll top bath and a state of the art coffee maker adorn the room to name just a few of the fine detail that Hotel Du Vin afford their guests. Add to this the vast list of fine wines stocked at the bar and all in all you might now understand why we choose to return again and again. Oh, and as a last word it is walking distance into the city centre attractions that Bristol holds.

Room Tip: If you have stayed at other hotels in the Hotel Du Vin chain they welcome return visitors and are of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freemanwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel lived up to its reputation. From the welcome (nice friendly staff) to check out. The hotel room (a large room - one up from standard room) was beautifully decorated with a fabulous large bath and monsoon shower. The bed was comfortable and had great feather pillows that you sink into. The breakfast was leisurely and with the complimentary newspaper and a nice pot of tea was a great start to a Sunday. The only slight issue maybe parking. We were lucky enough to get one of the few free hotel spaces but the parking in the nearby multi-storey may be expensive for the weekend. This hotel has the whole package, great rooms, a well stocked bar and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had a night away at the Hotel du Vin in Bristol and stayed in one of their suites. We have stayed here before and always had a really nice stay. I would just say that I feel that the hotel is starting to feel like it needs refurbishing. There is a lovely bar with a "shabby chic" feel but the sofas aren't especially comfortable (or easy to climb out of!). The rooms are well equipped with new coffee machines but it is all starting to feel a bit tatty around the edges with peeling paint in areas and just generally a bit worn. However, that aside, it is a lovely welcoming hotel with very pleasant staff and lovely cocktails!!

Room Tip: The best room is the Harveys suite which has a rooftop courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gccqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £115 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing