We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic staff”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed for two nights & were extremely impressed by the staff, the reception girls were so friendly & really professional. Our room was upgraded & was the largest room I have ever stayed in, huge bed & lots of seating. The bathroom with the walk through shower was a treat & lovely products to use or take away. Only concern was on our second night there was lots of noise in the corridor that woke us both up twice. Breakfast used high quality food & nicely presented.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    328
    123
    64
    27
See reviews for
146
648
26
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ross on wye england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We booked for one night as a birthday treat. I specified the room with the terrace as this had been suggested on another occasion (but we didn't stay then) On arrival after a long day shopping at Cabot circus, we found my husband had left his credit card at house of Fraser. the front desk lady immediately got on the phone to the shop for us( without us even asking her to). In seconds she had located the card, she asked the shop to bring it to the hotel, when they said no (the assistants in H oF are not the most helpful as we had earlier experienced!) she volunteered to go and get the card herself! The shop is at least a 10 min walk from the hotel, and we said that we could go back and get the card the next day, but she insisted. About half an hour later she personally delivered the card to our room, and totally refused a tip! This was exceptional service! In fact the whole stay was much better than we expected. The room was enormous, and had the feel of a small apartment rather than just a room. The terrace was nice, but a bit tired if I'm honest. We had a good meal in the bistro and desserts back in our room. Lovely bathroom, again very large, needed a table for my glass of champagne, but I just moved one in from the terrace.
Fab breakfast, served in our room, and all for a very reasonable price.
We will return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpsrossonwye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We were lucky enough to book the last available room at Hotel Du Vin in Bristol after we were let down by another Bristol hotel which will remain nameless. It was my partner's birthday and we really wanted to treat ourselves. From the moment we spoke to reservations, who rescued us from temporary homelessness on the streets of Bristol, we were blown away by the level of attention to detail at the hotel. Our room was exquisite, with a well stocked mini-bar, gorgeous wine and the one of the most indulgent bathrooms I have ever seen. We were also pleased to find that the room was incredibly well sound-proofed due to a massive streetparty happening directly opposite the hotel.

We ate in the restaurant twice, at dinner and breakfast, and on both occasions felt thoroughly spoilt. Wonderful wine, incredible food and brilliant service. No sooner did we think of something that we would like, it was at our table without needing to ask. It seems as though the staff are all programmed to decipher the needs of their guests before they think of them themselves.

All in all, an absolutely brilliant trip. We will happily return again and again.

Room Tip: We had a large room, but are very keen to try the suites. I get the impression that there isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charliesangel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had a great stay for a weekend to celebrate a big birthday - friendly and helpful staff , huge beds , fantastic bathrooms / showers / baths and a real buzz in the bar at night.

Rooms perhaps slightly dark if you are staying in - but we were not.

Room Tip: compare the slight differences in size and price carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed staying here, although like others had noted previously that some rooms had looked a little tired. I have always found service to be very good and the staff friendly. On this occassion our room was clean, well maintained and had everything we needed.

The Bistro, as usual was very good and is worth staying here for the experience of dining alone . The menu left us pondering for a while as the selection on offer made for a difficult choice and the wine menu as you would expect is extensive. In the end my chosen starter of scallop ceviche was clean vibrant and fresh, whilst my lamb was cooked to perfection. My dinner companion's Tiger Prawns wrapped in pancetta were superb and looked amazing and for main an unusual choice of onglet steak proved to be a good one. Would recommend trying this uusual cut.

On the negative side although a wide range of breakfat choices are available (and very tasy) there is an extra payment for a cooked breakfast. This is a little steep considering the overall cost of the room.

Overall a great hotel and Bistro- Will definitely return

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have stayed here several times before and loved it. I think we have always had a superior room before and last time we were upgraded to a deluxe so have always had huge rooms and space.

This time I booked a standard room with king sized bed and it was a tiny pokey little room (Echinata something like that) 3rd floor back with attic ceiling over the bed which made it very hard to get in and out of the right side of the bed (and I am only 5'5") had to crawl in and out. So stupid as they have put their standard bedside table on the left side which takes up so much room, there is none on the right side and no lamp. With just a little thought they could provide a narrower table on the left side to enable the bed to move over a little so that the right side would have space for a table and a lamp.... no genius required. We are beginning to realise just how formulaic the chain is, same food same furniture even if it doesn't fit! Usual good bathroom, huge and actually too big for this room - would be better to give over some of the space to the room.

I also would have thought it was good business practice to see who is a return visitor and give them a decent room!

Has really put us off especially as we had just visited the branch in Winchester which was very disappointing, still like the Mal Maison in Leeds though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5492Cardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My Husband and I are regular guests at Hotel Du Vin Bristol and absolutely adore the understated luxury of this boutique hotel. Totally understated, from the outside you could drive past and not even realise it is there. Walk in off the street and you find yourself in a tree adorned courtyard totally hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the city streets. Very french, very Du Vin. Having stayed at a number of the hotels in the Du Vin portfolio of properties (Harrogate, Brighton and Edinburgh), Bristol is by far our favourite. The hotel is a sympathetically restored building, originally a sugar refinery and the architects have clearly retained its most noble features with bedrooms and suites that are reminiscent of New York loft apartments complete with exposed brick and sturdy iron pillars in rooms that are minimalistic in their decor . We always choose to stay in Beringer (rooms are named after wines), one of the luxury range of rooms - and well worth the additional cost. Egyptian cotton linen bedding, a waterfall shower, a huge freestanding roll top bath and a state of the art coffee maker adorn the room to name just a few of the fine detail that Hotel Du Vin afford their guests. Add to this the vast list of fine wines stocked at the bar and all in all you might now understand why we choose to return again and again. Oh, and as a last word it is walking distance into the city centre attractions that Bristol holds.

Room Tip: If you have stayed at other hotels in the Hotel Du Vin chain they welcome return visitors and are of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freemanwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing