We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambience, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London,England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, helpful staff”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Was in Bristol for a romantic weekend, and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. Packed full of quirky character and convenient modern facilities, I could not ask for more.

Room Tip: The rooms are nicely sound-proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    328
    122
    63
    27
See reviews for
145
647
26
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate an anniversary and it was fabulous. The free-standing bath with amazing with side taps so we could share and sip champagne! The only downside was that my partner tried to book a table in the restaurant in advance of our arrival but no reservation was made so we had to eat late. Then the restaurant service was poor at times - tried to bring out our mains before clearing starter plates, and we had to wait a ridiculous amount of time before managing to get someone's attention and ask for the dessert menu. I think the restaurant staff should get some training. Fabulous hotel though in a lovely location!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizziibd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
258 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I am a great fan of this group of hotels and Bristol did not disappoint. My only criticism and it has been mentioned by others is the poor lighting in both the room and bathroom. Yes I understand this is to create the Hotel du Vin atmosphere, but this would not be changed by providing a bedside light that you can read by, as well as a bright enough mirror light in the bathroom to shave by. If this was improved this hotel would get 10 out of ten. Food was great and breakfast perfect, also in a great position.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed in a cosy, quirky, standard loft room overlooking the inner courtyard for 2 nights mid-November.

The hotel is ideally situated for the city centre and great range of shops, although the down side of this is that parking is a bit of an issue. You will need to allow an extra £19 for each 24 hours in the nearby multi-storey!

Great ambiance in hotel bar, restaurant excellent and food outstanding, although our room definitely lacked in some basic areas...
no coat hooks (which meant coats had to strewn over the chairs)
extremely creaky wardrobe and creaky bed with rigid slats
no bathroom shelves/storage, so toiletries had to be left on the floor
toilet roll holder was falling off of wall etc etc.
...all little things in isolation but irritating when all stacked up.

Being a city centre hotel it would be unrealistic to avoid noise of some description, and ours came from people leaving the hotel bar late at night echoing around the courtyard. That said, if you bring a set of earplugs, this is a great hotel ideally located in a great city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArthurDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed and ate here for one night in early November. The building is a fantastic renovation. Parking is an issue although we managed to get one of the free spaces at the front. I cannot remember the name of our room but it was very good. Lovely large room with big bed, Japanese style, low to ground. Bathroom was also very large with a walk through shower and nice bath. Good selection of tea and coffee, magazines and mini bar drinks.
The food in the Bistro was excellent although the service was a little slow, they did come and apologise for the delay.
I have no complaints at all about anything and would definitely recommend both the hotel and bistro for a nice place to eat and stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

As you arrive Parking is an issue but to be fair when you book you are made well aware of this in advance and directed to the nearest Parking.
The Reception Area is very Poor in my opinion and we had to look twice to see how you actually get into the Hotel and initial indications were that of something average when infact its much much better.
When we booked in and confirmed we would be eating this evening as per booking it was not pointed out where we would be eating and location of the bistro and we were not offered to have our bags taken to our room though staff were very friendly and you do feel welcome.
The room was to a very high standard and the Bathroom was stunning with a roll top Bath and walk in Shower.
Mini bar was well stocked and there was full sky tv with all channels available and a good quality tv.
The food in the Bistro is Outstanding and the staff offer a fantastic service and your every needs are catered for and this realy impressed me,staff also worked with a smile on there face and this also goes along way.
Breakfast was Fantastic and everything was cooked to a high standard and there was Plenty of choice,again staff offered a first class service and worked with a smile on there faces.
Reception area is the only area i feel improvements could and should be made but i would still recommend this Hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed here a few weeks ago, and paid a fair bit for it. We were very impressed with the room and the bathroom, and the little touches like the espresso machine and the magazines

The deal we booked included a meal in the bistro which let things down a bit. The waiting staff were all nice enough but presumably too busy concentrating on customers ordering a la carte to really pay us much attention. Had to wait a fair while to get some water and that only came when I asked a second waiter and for some reason a basket of bread appeared on the table when we were nearly finished our main course.

When we finished the meal there was no-one to take our plates away or offer us coffee or anything so we just left and went back to our room. I really think they need to work on this as it did let it down a bit.

BUT the room was excellent and we had a great time.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing