We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful afternoon tea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Went to Hotel du Vin, Bristol last week with my Mum for an afternoon tea, and we weren't disappointed! We had a choice of teas, a lovely selection of fresh sandwiches, fruit tarts, warm chocolate brownies (to die for!!) and fresh, warm scones with clotted cream and jam. Wow! Waiting staff were great, very attentive but not too over bearing, as they can often be in high end places. We were left to our own devices and were able to enjoy our surroundings as well as the food. As with all HdV's, this one is a unique property, architecturally quirky and a lovely place to relax, with nice artwork on the walls and funky planters throughout. The bar was very well stocked, which is always good, and the music ambient. I would definetely recommend the bistro for food, drinks and a high tea. Only small criticism would be that in the lounge area, i.e. not formal dining, the proportions of the comfy leather chairs to tables seem slightly wrong! I would prefer to be eating off tables rather than wooden trunks, but hey it adds to the quirky vibe, I guess!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dollathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

922 - 928 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stumbled across this place during a little afternoon internet surfing, whilst looking for somewhere a little different to stay to break up the journey from Cornwall to Norfolk. We stayed here on a Sunday night, which meant we could take advantage of their Sunday stopover offer "Spend £75 in the restaurant bar and the room only costs £25" Spending £75 on our dinner was easy peasy! The menu was tempting and the food fabulous. The dining room was busy enough to have atmosphere, but not packed out, as I suspect a Friday of Saturday might have seen it. The Wine menu is extensive, the cocktail menu a brilliant blend of classics and and a couple of new ones with a twist. As for the service - I cannot fault it - spot on.
We stayed in the Laphroaig Room, which is a standard double(king) room. The room was very comfortable, and my partner was very impressed by the posh coffee machine, It is the Bathroom that will tempt me into returning to this hotel (or others in the small chain) though. A deliciour claw footed roll top bath, long and deep, a shower in which you take 5 full paces from one end to the other, with a monsoon shower head in the middle that will drench you in a millisecond. I have to admit to spending a lot of time under water in this hotel!
Bad points - these are probably minor, but personally i would prefer the double doors to the bathroom did not have an element of clear glass to them - i don't like anyone seeing me on the loo!! and one hot choc pouch between two seemed stingy on the tea tray, as did no complementary biscuit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

I had been to Bristol a few times before but it was the first time staying at the Hotel du Vin, downtown. Having heard a lot about it before, I haven't been disappointed. The rooms were nice and spacious, well equipped and individually decorated. The bathroom was exceptional: spaces with a free standing bath and a rainfall shower. The staff was nice and very helpful. The bar is very cosy and offers a good choice of drinks and both dinner and breakfast were very good. Definitively worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Marcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A little hidden gem. Excellent location. Unpretentious and atomospheric. Stayed in a "champagne" room which was spacious and extremely comfortable. The mezzanine bathroom was spectacular and impossible to resist having a big, bubble filled bath. Staff were helpful and polite. We ate in the bistro which had a really buzzy atmosphere and good quality food. A choice of teas, real coffee making facilities and fresh milk in the bedroom greatly appreciated after a long day. A good wholesome breakfast too. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: The champagne rooms are a truly luxurious experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitticatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Very nice old building (used to be a sugar factory) that has been converted into a Hotel. Lovely entrance and Courtyard area, traditional bar area and pleasant restaurant.

We stayed in one of the suites in the "loft area" which had it's own Terrace. It was a very large room which was well equipped, with an equally large bathroom. But the room was very dark (ok, it's an old building) but with very little lighting which made getting ready for the evening a little difficult. Bed and bedding were comfortable and clean.

The Hotel has all of the constraints of a conversion, with long walks to rooms, twists and turns, and a couple of tiny lifts. I'm sure that the Hotel do all they can to cater for people with disabilities but this is not the easiest place to get around if this is a consideration for you or your family.

There was a wedding going on when we were there and I suspect that this is popular venue for this type of event. There parties tend to "take over" when they're on so worth checking if you are looking for a peaceful evening in the Hotel.

Service throughout was excellent. Our evening meal was pretty good, not outstanding though. A knowledgeable sommelier and pleasant staff in the restaurant (though we were somewhat forgotten about at the end of the meal - why does this happen so often even in good restaurants?)

A good location near the city centre but parking is very limited. There is a grotty NCP across the road - not somewhere I would want to leave my car. Worth arriving early to nab a space in front of the hotel if you can.

So all in all a pleasant stay, and a Hotel we would recommend to a point - in our opinion it is expensive for what it is so if you get a good deal you not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Web site is not very clear about the rooms, which are probably of variable size. Ask questions abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great location in the heart of the city. Lovely room in the attic, cosy, quiet, very comfortable and attractive. Amazing bathroom nearly same size as bedroom. All facilities and furnishings best quality and decor was in good order. Very warm , if a tad too warm so needed to open windows which gave a charming view out over the hotel courtyard. Staff were very friendly and sorted an issue whereby booking.com had booked me into two rooms. Breakfast was good and I had continental with fresh coffee etc. Bar/ bistro food was also excellent. A great place to stay. Parking is limited outside the hotel but city car park in a 5 minute walk was good and secure overnight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mischa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I booked a room here for my birthday but had to cancel due to my daughter being unwell. When I rebooked it as agreed I found that we had been ungrade to the best suite in the hotel and we even had champagne bought to our room. The room was amazing and I had the loveliest and longest bath ever ! (with champagne in hand !) We had dinner in the bistro and it was was again really good, not amazing but I dont think it professes to be amazing but really nice steak and chips at a reasonable rate. I also got a birthday pudding ! The hotel and the staff could not have done more to make my belated birthday as lovely as possible ! I am a very very greatful customer

Room Tip: If you can afford it the suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £117 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing