We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Spent a very pleasant late afternoon at this beautiful hotel, with my husband, son and daughter in law. Afternoon tea was 'out of this world' my companions enjoyed a traditional tea and I was served a gluten free champagne tea. We were seated in the bar area (don't be put off by this) it is the most beautiful area opening out onto a small courtyard. Apparently they have a new French pastry chef and we all agreed that the scones (even my gluten free one) was to die for. I would highly recommend afternoon tea at this hotel, but you do need to book as lots of people were also enjoying the Sunday afternoon treat. 10/10 for this hotel services.

Room Tip: Parking a little difficult, we used one the car parks about 10 minute walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a night at this hotel and was well and truly spoilt , it's amazing. The courtyard as you walk in is just start of the beautiful hotel. The reception staff were very quick at checking in and our room which was a standard was most certainly not standard it was fabulous. The hotel is nicely located 5-10 walk from anywhere so is ideal for shops and bars. The rooms are decorated to high standard the bathrooms are the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen. The baths and shower are just amazing . We were very impressed with this hotel and are already looking to go back before the end of year. It may cost a bit more than your normal chain hotel but well worth every penny .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Delicious food! Went there for a celebration and def. we'll go again , but who needs to celebrate anything when good food is awaiting?
Had dinner from the summer menu and it was awesome!
Would def . recommend it thousand times to family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NARI85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, staff that are genuinely interested in their guests, wondrous food!

I have used the bar rather extensively but haven't eaten here until last week! (Shame on me).

Throughly impressed, I can recommend the pan fried scollops and the pork belly is a must!

As the great Arnold Schwarzenegger famously said, I'll be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorerinterior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A friend and I stayed here back in May 2012 (late review, but I've only just started doing them!) and loved it.

It's the first time we had stayed in this boutique chain, and we really did enjoy every minute.

We were upgraded to the Harvey Bristol Cream suite, which was perfect given I was treating my friend for her birthday. Not only was the room (and bathroom) spacious and luxurious, they were also well designed with great interiors. The only small gripe is the room was a little dark but the outdoor terrace area made up for this. The sun shone through the door and we leisurely enjoyed a bottle of wine while catching-up on our gossip.

The staff were great, really accommodating and full of useful local knowledge.

We spend some time in the bar later on in the evening - what a fantastic wine selection!

I'd fully recommend Hotel du Vin to anyone staying in Bristol. While it's not the cheapest, you certain get what you pay for with this place.

Room Tip: The Harvey Bristol Cream suite is the only room with an ourdoor terrace - fully recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a review of Hotel Du Vin's lounge/bar area and its Afternoon Cream Tea. We have never stayed at the hotel itself.

We've visited Hotel Du Vin quite a few times, always enjoying a great glass of wine in a lovely, atmospheric room with luggage chests for tables and large, leather sofas. The sofas may need replacing, as you sink into them low enough to be sat on the floor, but they look great and are comfortable for lounging.

We recently went for a special Gromit Unleashed Afternoon Cream Tea, which, at £7 each, was a bargain. (A pound goes to the Grand Appeal, too.) Unfortunately, we wanted to get the 'Fizz for 2' deal at £12, but were told the deals cannot be run in conjunction with one another, but our ultra-accommodating waitress sorted us out with two nice glasses of Champagne as a gesture of friendliness. She really was great.

So, the cream tea itself was lovely: the scones are slightly short and crumbly, and soft in the middle. You get a generous scoop of clotted cream and a choice of three blends of tea. There's not enough jam in the tiny jars (Bonne Maman), so you may want to ask for more. Overall, a lovely, relaxed experience where the staff make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in the Beringer room at The Hotel du Vin for two nights. The room was spacious and the super King size bed luxuriously comfortable, however the outstanding feature was the ensuite with free standing bath and large walk through shower. Everything about the room was clean and well kept, with additional little touches such as the coffee and tea making just that little bit better quality. As if the room wasn’t enough to recommend the hotel, the bar and restaurant definitely sold it. Both were quietly understated exuding comfort and relaxation. The food was of course excellent and all staff were friendly and helpful providing an efficient and professional service. The location of the hotel was ideal for walking to the Harbourside, Clifton or the shopping area of the city (Cabot Circus). We will definitely be staying at this hotel on our next visit to Bristol.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zymology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £111 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing