We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel du Vin, a huge thank you.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel du Vin, a huge thank you.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My daughter and partner married at the hotel this weekend and the event was totally magical.

The setting is stylish. The atmosphere is chilled and relaxed. Staff are all professional in their trade. Attentive and polite. So refreshing to find in this day. You helped make one of the best days of their lives perfection. Georgina, the Events Manager is superb in her role. Nothing too much trouble.

Food, whatever time of the day is perfectly cooked and presented. The rooms and bathrooms are luxurious. Great to get a way from the corporate feel of the big chains. By now you will have learnt I was very happy at the Hotel du Vin, Bristol and I will be looking forward to staying over next time we are in Bristol.

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarawalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    330
    123
    65
    28
See reviews for
151
650
26
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lytham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We decided to take our 2 dogs away with us for the weekend and we were made to feel welcome and our dogs were well received by all the staff they met at the hotel. The hotel itself is lovely - a home from home with quality decor and fitments. The bathroom was sheer bliss with a roll top bath and walk through monsoon shower. Plenty of options where to eat - a pretty courtyard, the bar, the bistro and even a romantic little snug which can seat 4. A bargain offer where if you spend £75 on food and drink the room charge drops to £45 per night. Overall a really relaxing break and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. We will certainly be having another visit in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cd0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were only at this hotel for an overnight stay. The parking is a problem but it is a town centre hotel. The bar and food prices are very high even for a hotel of this quality. The room we were allocated named Etchar would have been more suitable for single occupancy. On one side of the bed only had a gap of about six inches between the bed and the wall, this combined with a sloping ceiling resulted in me having to crawl in and out from the foot of the bed. Obviously there was no room for a bedside table on this side so nowhere to put a drink of water etc. The room and bathroom was very dark with or without the lights on. The bathroom was large with roll top bath and huge shower. However the screen between them was dirty, the sink emptied eventually and there was no magnifying mirror for shaving or makeup. There was no information in the room about room or hotel facilities or times of breakfast. More seriously the emergency fire exit information was quite high on the wall in small print which made it difficult to read even with glasses on. On a better note the staff were most efficient and pleasant and on complaining my bill was reduced by twenty nine pounds.

Room Tip: Do not accept this room if you are not single occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have stayed at Hotel du Vin twice. Once on our wedding night and more recently for a birthday special occasion. It really is the place to stay to treat yourself. The rooms are superb, luxurious and clean. Dinner was the perfect mix of style and substance and staff are polite and attentive. Service at dinner was excellent and welcome was warm on arrival. Yes it is a little expensive but if you want to make your occasion special then choose this hotel, its well worth the money. Looking forward to our next occasion to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulahoop71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The food is fab. The hotel itself is centrally located but best of all was the room; which had his and her bath's and a shower big enough for a entire rugby team!!! The room was on two floors, beautifully designed,and retaining the victorian warehouse character. Go there, you ll love it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay one night at the hotel as part of our week off. Our journey didn't start off too well as all trains to Bristol from where we live had been cancelled (trespasser on the tracks!) so we hopped on the National Express instead. As we arrived in the pouring rain I did feel a bit miserable, though as it turned out the coach station is only about a 5 min walk from the hotel so turned out good in the end.

My spirits were quickly lifted when we entered the cute courtyard complete with its own gromit and gorilla knitting. We were checked in quickly and were shocked at how lovely and big our room was. We had booked a superior room and it was worth every penny! Huge bathroom with a walk through shower, massive comfy bed it was all just wonderful.

We headed out for dinner and a wander round the waterfront which was about a 5 minute walk. We also discovered the gorgeous Christmas Steps which I've never seen before. As we walked back later on we realised the the hotel is opposite Nelson Street with the See no Evil street art exhibition. We are massive street art fans so decided to visit it in the morning on our way out shopping.

After a comfortable nights sleep we went down for breakfast. We had the continental option (cooked is extra) and were impressed by the selection on display, don't think I could have fitted in a cooked breakfast anyhow! The only minor niggle was the room appeared to be full of business men and we were sat by a table of 4 loud suits discussing their boring business, including some lovely expletives and jokes about 'having a woman' in every country (they were South African). Just what you want to hear over your croissants!

So to sum up we loved this hotel and will definitely be back! It's perfectly positioned for the waterfront and Cabot Circus and also Nelson Street if you are a street art fan.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The room we stayed in was a superior double and the room was huge with the original features of the building blending beautifully with all the things you would want to find in a hotel room. The walk in shower was huge inside the beautiful huge bathroom. The room was at the front of the hotel and so in the morning a little noise from the traffic outside however I am very sensitive to traffic noise and given the location the room was quiet. The staff were all very friendly and made the stay feel special.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing