We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A small family wedding in a charming room, followed by an excellent lunch in a private room off the bistro restaurant made for a really lovely special occasion. The spacious bedrooms were stylish, elegant and softly lit while the bathrooms offered roll-top baths and state-of-the-art monsoon power showers. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the bar and restaurant relaxed but efficiently run, plus there was some free hotel parking - a real bonus in the city centre. Hotel du Vin is a superbly converted old sugar house set back off the main road,with a small courtyard to the front, giving it a secluded position, yet it's only a short walk to the waterside or Cabot Circus shopping centre.
Would thoroughly recommend this well-priced hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanahShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

In October, my Fiancé and I got married on the SS Great Britain and booked our Wedding night in the Pommery Suite. Now I am 'prudent' with money and so was very cautious when we booked this but... Impressed is an understatement.

I'm not one to gush and this is the first review I have ever been bothered to write so that should tell you a lot. The care and attention the staff showed us from the moment we first visited to view the room to the moment we checked out was incredible.

Suffice it to say, the suite itself was amazing and the bathroom spectacular! I don't think I've ever spent as long in a shower as I did there...

Okay, enough gushing! If you want to treat yourself to a night in Bristol, book this! :-)

Thank you Hotel du Vin...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhamblin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

There's not a lot of choice in the City other than a couple of corporates that don't hit the 5* mark. Therefore, book a night here, the prices are reasonable even for the suite which are pretty good, the food is not at all bad and the service not far off - just a little less attentive than it could be but, then again for the money...

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank JE_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Sunday brunch worked very well. Nice champagne cocktails and loads of food, The serve yourself selection was predominantly fishy - very nice, but some ham and pate too. Bread and butter pudding with banana and rum bread was a treat to finish.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, room was clean - lovely bathroom with walk in/walk out shower and a fab iron claw bath tub. Air conditioning seemed a bit pathetic and not particularly cool, I don't think I'd like to stay here in the middle of summer. Hotel has a few parking spots directly outside and there is a multi-story car park further afield - it obviously would be better with more parking on site. Breakfast good - as is the normal HDV standard. Friendly, informative staff, good location close to centre of town and also the motorway.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ireallywanttogothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I organised a friend's hen do here recently and the staff were just fantastic, particularly the manager working that night who really went all out to help when a surprise for my friend almost went horribly wrong!! A massive thank you to all the friendly helpful staff for helping make my friend's night a success. And the food was fantastic too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for one night passing through Bristol as it looked very interesting. Ignore the promotional material and e-mails sent prior to arrival (which are quite scary (thought we would have to send out for a pizza!)). This place is just awesome! Picture an oasis of peace and elegance in the French style, in the very centre of Bristol.
Arrived Saturday evening to find free parking! Entered to a secluded and peaceful, almost medieval courtyard of great elegance, with a fountain and modern hotel frontage. The rooms were just totally out of this world! Their design is to create a work of art that your lady (or gentleman) will become part of! Walls are ancient and so thick that nothing disturbs your peace, and the corridors are silent, elegant and intimate. You need no interaction with the outside world! Bathrooms will delight your lady! The showers (gravity wide diameter) will contain the exhuberances of the most untamed silverback! Toiletries are a delightful refreshing citrus that reminded me of Raffles at Number One Beach Road in Sing. Mini bar (really an extension of the hotel bar) will delight your every desire! Bottle of chilled champagne and bunch of flowers on arrival will satisfy the most discerning partner! Courtesy copy of the Independent is provided.
The bar is of a satisfying French influence and very elegant. The dining room had the best atmosphere that we had ever seen, designed in French Bistro style but with a bright magic I have never seen before.
Even at 2100 for dinner, full of young and old, elegant and beautiful, in their best glad rags, with a great atmosphere, and groups still coming in for dinner even at 2200! Service friendly and impeccable, with lovely food in the medium, and if you wish, high price ranges to suit! Simply cannot fault it. We had a magic time morning and night! Use this as your base in Bristol! You will not regret it! Definitely a life affirming experience!

Room Tip: Does not matter which room you choose, you will be too engrossed to worry about the real world outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £116 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing