We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice building but the conversion is a bit dull and worn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice building but the conversion is a bit dull and worn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Bristol Hotel du Vin in October 2013. The building is very well situated in central Bristol and is basically charming, as are many of the remaining older buildings in central Bristol (sadly rather overshadowed by terrible post-war planning). I really wanted to love this hotel. It was certainly convenient, with good amenities (bar and really very nice restaurant), but our spacious room was filled with bulky, heavy furniture (are many guests very overweight?) and there was not nearly enough lighting to compensate for the small original windows and dark furnishings. The room felt gloomy and oppressive. It was also not as clean as it should have been - when I moved a chair to use the desk, the light highlighted a thick coating of dust, there was black mould growing on the silicone joint sealant in the walk-in shower and the bath tub was grubby and felt rough to the touch.

I will be returning to Bristol in the next few years and I will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishGirlinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experience with us so your comments are much appreciated and please be assured we will use them constructively to improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    324
    122
    63
    27
See reviews for
142
640
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dyrham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We visited the bistro for a special birthday, warm welcome, great cocktails, amazing oysters and attentive service from the waiting staff and sommelier. Having stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions it continues to offer excellent service and value for money.. Thank you!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TollgateTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thnak you so much for the lovely feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Hotel du Vin and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Bristol Hotel Du Vin is the best of the chain that I have been to so far.

The dining area is a nigh perfect balance of decadence and intimacy. Coupled with the staff who are always on had but never appear to be hovering over you, I have never failed to leave feeling suitably pampered.

The menu is varied, and the wine list extensive.

Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much for giving such lovely feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Hotel du Vin and hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We werent sure where to go for dinner in Bristol and just chose this restaurant on the off chance! We are glad we did! The food was fantastic, My husband and I had the chauteaubriand steak and it was cooked to perfection! We had good wine, good service and the atmosphere was great considering it was quite early.
we definitely recommend going and the next time we go to Bristol we will stay at the hotel! it looked lovely!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilpinkmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give such lovely feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Hotel du Vin and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W-S-M
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for one night. Staff are fantastic-especially Kate on reception! Thanks for making our anniversary special! Hotel is lovely- room was clean - lovely bathroom with walk in/walk out shower and a iron claw bath. Only one complaint- the air conditioning is terrible and not particularly cool! We were on the front of the hotel so due to the traffic noise we could not open the windows. The room was unbearably hot even in October! I don't think I'd like to stay here in the middle of summer! Apart from that our stay was excellent and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests's experience so your comments are much appreciated. We will certainly look into the issues with our air conditioning in the rooms. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for a night in october as a night away treat. Drove past the hotel the first time as it's set back from a main road in Bristol town centre with no obvious signage. Arrived before 3pm check in time to find all 7 of the free hotel car parking spaces were occupied by people who had yet to leave, having already checked out. Metered parking already full so had to park in the expensive NCP across the road. On our return 2 hours later, still no hotel allocated spaces available so had to leave the car in the NCP overnight. Slightly annoying even though their website does mention this.
Lovely courtyard entrance to the hotel in a converted sugar factory. Friendly and efficient staff checked us in and showed us to our room which was modern and very clean. Good selection of amenities and free nespresso in the room, also good choice of TV channels. great bathrooms with roll top baths and walk in showers, although shower thermostat a little tempramental! Bathroom lighting could have been a little brighter over the mirror. Had pre-booked dinner in the Bistro which was lucky as it was full. Had a cocktail in the warm, relaxing bar and then a well-cooked, flavourful 3 course meal in the restaurant. Service was friendly and attentive.
Although it was nice to overlook the courtyard, our sleep was disturbed by guests returning late at night, even with the windows shut.
Would definitely return and definitely will try one of the hotels in this chain based on our experience here.

Room Tip: Noise from the courtyard can be an issue and keep checking for the free parking spaces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naseema C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give such lovely feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Hotel du Vin and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The rooms and the bar are atmospheric and the service in reception and the bar was great. We ate dinner there and in all our years of eating out had never has such an off steak. Worse to come when the waiter told us it was just aged. When we suggested he try it himself he was nearly sick. Anyone, not least a chef, should have known it was dangerously off. We were offered a replacement but not compensation of any kind. So, not knowing Bristol at all, we elected to stay there and eat elsewhere for dinner. Then made the mistake of having breakfast there, it was just ok but the worst scrambled eggs I've ever eaten.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Feedback is very important to us, as we are always looking for ways to improve our guests's experience. We apologise for the problems with your food, this is certainly not Hotel du Vin standard, but pleased be assured we will use your feedback in a constructive manner to improve on our service to guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing