We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the end of Sept, It is where we first met way back in 1976 when the building was then a electrical wholesalers. We were ungraded to a suite and my word, what a room, I think the whole room was bigger than our little terrace house, the bed was soooo big, we nearly lost each other. All the staff were really friendly, and quite fascinated by our reminiscing of the old building, much of which we could still recognize. The food in the restaurant was really lovely, and again staff really very attentive. It seems really strange staying in a hotel in our home city, but I would really love to return perhaps on our next big anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolProbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such lovely feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again for your next anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful Friday-night stay here. The restored/converted hotel building is atmospheric and a real pleasure to walk around. It starts before you even reach reception, as to enter you must pass through a stone arch and a pretty courtyard.

The service on reception (and from the hotel staff throughout our stay) was excellent and very well judged. This is clearly a hotel that knows its customer base and what they want. There is no over-the-top formality - just polite, prompt and friendly service from presentable staff. One nice girl on reception was happy to recommend a restaurant in town for lunch, for example, which turned out to be excellent, and our room-service drinks were provided quickly.

Our standard room was what we would have expected of an upgrade! Tasteful interior design, luxirous bathroom (with stand-alone bath and long walk-in shower area) and large, comfy wooden bed. It was a pleasure to stay in.

The building itself is lovely and carries the same dark-wood and leather feel of its Brighton sister hotel. The bar was busy with people having drinks before their dinner, but also seemed to have groups there who were neither eating or sleeping at the hotel. Despite being a 'hotel bar' I, too, would happily come here on a Friday or Saturday night with friends.

I have yet to be disappointed by this excellent group of hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCW_CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give such lovely feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back to Hotel du Vin soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We all had such a splendid time celebrating friend's mum's 89th birthday at Brighton's Hotel du Vin, we were treated to her 90th this year at the Bristol branch. Not quite as higgledy piggledy as the Brighton one, but another atmospheric conversion - this time a sugar factory. The lift is in the sugar chute, and accommodation meanders round a courtyard. The signature giant baths and walk through showers are nearly worth going for on their own. My friend did have curdled milk in her fridge, we experienced mild delay in service for breakfast one morning, and the 90 year old was bamboozled by the bill payment but otherwise a brilliant weekend. Emphasis of the bistro offerings was on freshness and deliciousness, I'd say, more than creativity. Love the breakfast selections - home made muesli, and buckets of fresh orange juice, unusual bread, variations on the eggs benedict theme... who needs lunch?. The wine list and bar offerings way too tempting. And Bristol had more than enough to keep us busy - theatre, ferries, museums, and more than its share of impressive engineering.

Room Tip: All individually styled; triple glazing on the front, so no noise; maybe avoid the wedding/party sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay with us. All comments are greatly appreciated as it allows us to do better next time, so thank you for your time and we hope we can welcome you back to Hotel du Vin in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed here on business.
The hotel is welcoming, warm, beautifully designed with a pleasing mix of old and new design. Rooms are spacious, spotless clean and with all additions you may dream of including a little coffee machine.
Bathroom is wonderful with freestanding bath and walk in shower.
Bar and restaurant serve delicious food.

I am calling this hotel almost flawless because I loved it overall. However, the service was superb at times and a touch distracted at other times.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berggans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for such lovely feedback and we promise to make sure the service standards are all flawless for your next visit. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just loved this venue albeit a slightly difficult to find location. a sat nav would be useful if you don't know Bristol. Parking was also challenging but the hotel provides guidance. The rooms were modern with a classic touch and very comfortable, and they are all called after wines! The restaurant was buzzing with good service. Excellent moules frites but huge portions, so if wanting to have more than one course consider asking for a starter size with chips! Amazing cheese board! Breakfast was great too and I loved the baked eggs. Very happy with stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 416JaneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for such lovely feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A typical Hotel du Vin offering - and that is not meant as a criticism as I've had some wonderful stays at HdV.
We stayed for a night in a small suite which was very well kitted out and wonderfully quiet.
The hotel is located in central Bristol, so very convenient if you want to shop, but not as attractive or pretty as say, Clifton. You're surrounded by concrete and office blocks - but restaurants and bars are numerous and close at hand.
As many others have commented, the hotel itself is an old converted sugar warehouse - think lots of brickwork and not much light. Therein lies my problem with this particular hotel. I found the overall impression to be very dark. Granted, it was a cloudy day, but the predominance of brown decor - dark wood, brick, leather sofas and chairs - did nothing to lighten the picture. The restaurant is much lighter and brighter and very lovely when the candles are lit for dinner.
Downsides: parking is nigh on impossible outside the hotel itself and so you end up in a nearby multi-storey which, even with HdV discount, is £15 per day. The main lounge area isn't huge and finding a seat in the afternoon wasn't easy - however this could have been due to poor weather and a full hotel.
Plus points: Really good staff. From reception to restaurant all were lovely. In particular the sommelier who looked after us during dinner was a star. She was so charming and helpful. Full marks. And, as already stated, our room was spotless and really well fitted out. Coffee machine along with kettle and a good selection of teas. Fresh milk in the fridge and, if you choose to pay for them, a decent selection of drinks and nibbles. We also had the biggest TV I have ever seen in a hotel bedroom! I'm not sure if this was a good or a bad thing. Certainly much better than a tiny offering but it did seem a little out of proportion and was positioned on a cabinet which clearly didn't fit in with the styling of the rest of the room. All in all a bit odd - but at least I didn't have to put my glasses on to watch it in bed!
We had a really good evening meal although I felt the main courses were poorer in quality than the starters. Overall atmosphere in the restaurant was good.
So, a place I would happily go back to and feel comfortable doing so if visiting Bristol. Would it be a hotel I'd seek to revisit purely on its own merits? Not too sure there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests's experience with us, so we appreciate your time and your comments. We are always looking for alternative parking arrangements as we know this is an issue with our guests, however this is proving very difficult in our location, but hopefully we can improve for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Bristol Hotel du Vin in October 2013. The building is very well situated in central Bristol and is basically charming, as are many of the remaining older buildings in central Bristol (sadly rather overshadowed by terrible post-war planning). I really wanted to love this hotel. It was certainly convenient, with good amenities (bar and really very nice restaurant), but our spacious room was filled with bulky, heavy furniture (are many guests very overweight?) and there was not nearly enough lighting to compensate for the small original windows and dark furnishings. The room felt gloomy and oppressive. It was also not as clean as it should have been - when I moved a chair to use the desk, the light highlighted a thick coating of dust, there was black mould growing on the silicone joint sealant in the walk-in shower and the bath tub was grubby and felt rough to the touch.

I will be returning to Bristol in the next few years and I will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishGirlinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experience with us so your comments are much appreciated and please be assured we will use them constructively to improve our standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £116 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing