We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,346)
Filter reviews
1,346 results
Traveller rating
750
353
134
77
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
353
134
77
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathmonsoon showersugar houseveuve clicquotfree standing bathloft suitewalk in showerhuge showerlovely hotelstandard roomlimited parkingsunday nightbirthday treateggs benedictcoffee machinemini barlarge room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
898 - 903 of 1,346 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here on a Sunday night. The staff were freindly and the room was lovely. In the bistro the food was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GuyD-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night, were allowed to check-in earlier than 3pm. Hotel was fully booked but did not feel too busy. Staff really friendly and attentive. Good location and lovely old building (old sugar house). High quality decor in the room with superb large bathroom and fantastic shower. Bed was very comfortable. Nespresso machine in room also a great touch.
Overall ambiance and food in Bistro / Bar was great, with nice comfy areas to relax.
On the downside, room quite expensive, no breakfast included. Room was also quite stuffy and warm (no air-conditioner as advertised). Difficult to reach light switch and bedside light from the bed. Breakfast as an optional extra, slightly overpriced for what you get. Free Wifi is terrible. Very limited parking, 6 free spaces and 6 additional spaces that require hourly top-ups at meter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we appreciate your time and your honesty. Breakfast included in your rate is an option when you book on-line, although there is an additional charge. Sadly our parking is very limited due to our city centre location, we do however have an arrangement with the NCP across the road who give us a 25% discount.
I hope these issues did not put you off too much and that you will consider visiting Hotel du Vin again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

What can you say about this place? It's changed my view on how a hotel should be.

All other hotels have boring square rooms with bathrooms worse than my own at home.

But Hotel du Vin was unreal.

I've seen some of the low reviews on here and I can categorically state none of the issues were apparent to us.

Reception, corridors and room were immaculately clean. And I personally loved the corridors being a little adventure. You soon work out how to get to your room after one solo mission :)

The room, though. That was incredible. We stayed in The Pommery which is one of the Mezzanine rooms.

A lovely big room with a very comfortable king sized bed and perfect bedding.The TV was a huge 52" smart TV. Didn't use it but it would be great if we were there a few nights.

The toilet is on the same floor as the bed and was big. Just a sink and a loo...but bigger than most hotel's bathrooms. The sink was huge!

Up the stairs, on the mezzanine, you have the roll-top bath and an impressive shower (you'll all have read about the showers at HdV by now). It's a fantastic way to wake yourself up. I now have shower envy. If you put your head in it you feel like you're drowning! :) So nookie isn't going to happen, directly under it, unless you swing that way ;)

The lighting of the room was great. All zoned and each zone was dimmable to your desire. This was actually a big deal to us. Mood lighting is everything and this allowed for whatever you needed.

There was a coffee making machine (ours didn't work...probably me), all the usual tea making things, hair-dryer, iron and ironing board all tucked away in a huge wardrobe.

These rooms are in a quiet part of the hotel and there wasn't a sound heard apart from the odd guest closing their doors.

Staff where nice when talked to and we even had our breakfast in bed. Nice touch meaning we didn't have to leave the great room.

Location was right next to the main part of Bristol centre. Don't understand people saying it's in a bad part...it's totally not. You could throw a stone into the wide open central hub of Bristol. And it's surrounded by quaint alleys and streets. Bristol seems to be undergoing a major facelift at the moment.

If you're looking for somewhere unique, romantic and private...this is the place. We'd love to return sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you so much for such a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed on Tuesday following an evening at The Hippodrome. The hotel was quite charming and the public rooms delightful. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and chic although very small and the bathroom lovely! We were able to check in early, which was a great help. The full cooked breakfast was excellent!
However there were a few negatives. The room overlooked an alleyway with large office windows directly opposite just a few feet away. This meant there was no privacy in the room, so we had to keep the curtains closed...which darkened and enclosed the small room even more. Obviously the geography of the building cant be changed, but something such as a venetian blind would have helped make the room private yet still allowed light in.
The bathroom towel had huge areas of blue stains, which was quite off putting and Im sure staff would have changed it, except I only noticed as I stepped out of the bath and unfolded the towel...so too late to get it changed. I did show it to reception afterwards & they were most apologetic.
When we retired late from the bar, the landing where our room was had a very strong pungent 'drain' smell, which was also very evident in our room. We did alert reception of this just for their information and they did offer to swap rooms for us, but by now we were exhausted in bed, it was midnight so not really appropriate to start moving rooms!

Overall the hotel is quirky and very nice and staff attentive. We would definitely go again next time we are at the theatre as the positives certainly outweigh the negatives!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bensonbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your time. Please be assured that your comments regarding the blinds will be taken on board as they are very valid, so thank you for that.
We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed here on a Sat night, they allowed us to book in early, the room it self was lovely, very clean, except for behind the radiator but just been picky, the bathroom and bed were very large and lovely, the continental breakfast was ok, wish I'd have had a cooked breakfast, the staff were extreamly helpful, Would luv to stay here again but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyjanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can welcome you back again. Our website always has lots of offers available, especially on a Sunday night if you can make it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews