We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Really glad we chose this hotel. Full of atmosphere, very comfortable room with a great bathroom. Hotel was full so had to settle for a late dinner reservation in the bistro but all went on time and food was terrific. Some people say the parking is a pain. To be honest the pay and display spaces are more trouble than they're worth - best to bite the bullet and go to the NCP opposite - you get 25% discount as a hotel guest.

Room Tip: We had a side room. I imagine there is some road noise at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am pleased that you were well looked after and enjoyed your weekend with us. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Excellent in every respect , fantastic room very quirky indeed.
Liked the expresso machine in the room
Good breakfast and excellent attentive bar staff
Would return no problem
Parking is a pain unless you get a hotel space

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your time. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back to Hotel du Vin in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed the Sunday night and had brunch and evening meal. The brunch was amazing - we were so full that evening meal was a struggle! Service was very good and the room was lovely. Our room was standard and it was great. The shower was amazing....... No such thing as a quick shower if staying here! I was most impressed with the brunch, it was very full but service was good. I would return for brunch in the future and bring a whole host of family and friends!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for such a great review and we look forward to seeing you and your friends again for Sunday Brunch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here on a Sunday night. The staff were freindly and the room was lovely. In the bistro the food was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GuyD-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night, were allowed to check-in earlier than 3pm. Hotel was fully booked but did not feel too busy. Staff really friendly and attentive. Good location and lovely old building (old sugar house). High quality decor in the room with superb large bathroom and fantastic shower. Bed was very comfortable. Nespresso machine in room also a great touch.
Overall ambiance and food in Bistro / Bar was great, with nice comfy areas to relax.
On the downside, room quite expensive, no breakfast included. Room was also quite stuffy and warm (no air-conditioner as advertised). Difficult to reach light switch and bedside light from the bed. Breakfast as an optional extra, slightly overpriced for what you get. Free Wifi is terrible. Very limited parking, 6 free spaces and 6 additional spaces that require hourly top-ups at meter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we appreciate your time and your honesty. Breakfast included in your rate is an option when you book on-line, although there is an additional charge. Sadly our parking is very limited due to our city centre location, we do however have an arrangement with the NCP across the road who give us a 25% discount.
I hope these issues did not put you off too much and that you will consider visiting Hotel du Vin again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

What can you say about this place? It's changed my view on how a hotel should be.

All other hotels have boring square rooms with bathrooms worse than my own at home.

But Hotel du Vin was unreal.

I've seen some of the low reviews on here and I can categorically state none of the issues were apparent to us.

Reception, corridors and room were immaculately clean. And I personally loved the corridors being a little adventure. You soon work out how to get to your room after one solo mission :)

The room, though. That was incredible. We stayed in The Pommery which is one of the Mezzanine rooms.

A lovely big room with a very comfortable king sized bed and perfect bedding.The TV was a huge 52" smart TV. Didn't use it but it would be great if we were there a few nights.

The toilet is on the same floor as the bed and was big. Just a sink and a loo...but bigger than most hotel's bathrooms. The sink was huge!

Up the stairs, on the mezzanine, you have the roll-top bath and an impressive shower (you'll all have read about the showers at HdV by now). It's a fantastic way to wake yourself up. I now have shower envy. If you put your head in it you feel like you're drowning! :) So nookie isn't going to happen, directly under it, unless you swing that way ;)

The lighting of the room was great. All zoned and each zone was dimmable to your desire. This was actually a big deal to us. Mood lighting is everything and this allowed for whatever you needed.

There was a coffee making machine (ours didn't work...probably me), all the usual tea making things, hair-dryer, iron and ironing board all tucked away in a huge wardrobe.

These rooms are in a quiet part of the hotel and there wasn't a sound heard apart from the odd guest closing their doors.

Staff where nice when talked to and we even had our breakfast in bed. Nice touch meaning we didn't have to leave the great room.

Location was right next to the main part of Bristol centre. Don't understand people saying it's in a bad part...it's totally not. You could throw a stone into the wide open central hub of Bristol. And it's surrounded by quaint alleys and streets. Bristol seems to be undergoing a major facelift at the moment.

If you're looking for somewhere unique, romantic and private...this is the place. We'd love to return sometime.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you so much for such a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed on Tuesday following an evening at The Hippodrome. The hotel was quite charming and the public rooms delightful. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and chic although very small and the bathroom lovely! We were able to check in early, which was a great help. The full cooked breakfast was excellent!
However there were a few negatives. The room overlooked an alleyway with large office windows directly opposite just a few feet away. This meant there was no privacy in the room, so we had to keep the curtains closed...which darkened and enclosed the small room even more. Obviously the geography of the building cant be changed, but something such as a venetian blind would have helped make the room private yet still allowed light in.
The bathroom towel had huge areas of blue stains, which was quite off putting and Im sure staff would have changed it, except I only noticed as I stepped out of the bath and unfolded the towel...so too late to get it changed. I did show it to reception afterwards & they were most apologetic.
When we retired late from the bar, the landing where our room was had a very strong pungent 'drain' smell, which was also very evident in our room. We did alert reception of this just for their information and they did offer to swap rooms for us, but by now we were exhausted in bed, it was midnight so not really appropriate to start moving rooms!

Overall the hotel is quirky and very nice and staff attentive. We would definitely go again next time we are at the theatre as the positives certainly outweigh the negatives!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bensonbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your time. Please be assured that your comments regarding the blinds will be taken on board as they are very valid, so thank you for that.
We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £116 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing