We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I love the hotel du vin chain, they always deliver beautiful rooms, great atmosphere and service. Only negative was actually something that happened when we arrived...as we were checking in two Young ladies turned up asking if they could partake of afternoon tea. The male on reception couldn't have been less welcoming if he has tried. The poor girls were practically turned away so that he could get back to his computer.The slightly older gentlemen we were dealing with was very efficient and friendly, thankfully.
The restaurant staff were Fabulous. The sommelier took our order and asked if it was a special occasion...and arrived bearing a beautifully hand decorated 'happy birthday' platter after our main courses. The waiting staff were attentive, friendly but not pushy. Perfect, thank you for making my birthday so special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday with us and felt well looked after. We will certainly be looking into who was on reception when you arrived, as this is certainly not HOtel du Vin standard. Thank you for your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    320
    120
    63
    26
See reviews for
139
631
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here when visiting for a friend’s birthday. The hotel and rooms were gorgeous we especially loved the amazing big bath in our bathroom.. it was sooo relaxing! The breakfasts were plentiful and tasty and the cocktails in the bar were lovely too. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Bristol. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for such great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at The Hotel du Vin as a birthday treat for the husband. Took advantage of the dinner bed and breakfast deal. The room ( the Dom perignon suite ) was fabulous - very big, comfy seating area, huge telly and a lovely bathroom with roll top bath. The dinner was.....okay, nothing special but not bad, a little disappointing to be honest, but the restaurant was nice, unpretentious with a nice buzzy ambience, the staff were friendly and efficient. We had cocktails in the bar after dinner and the bar staff seemed knowledgable and offered advice on which to go for - very nice. After the mild disappointment over dinner the breakfast was a different story - so much choice, a lovely spread of pastries, fruit, freshly squeezed juice etc and there were plenty of hot options too, everything we had was tasty and again the staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdctew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback, although we are sorry to hear that your food did not meet your expectations. We would be keen to find out more so that we can inform the chef, so please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here on a bed and breakfast basis for a conference.
The room was excellent, the staff and service was great with the right level of attention. Breakfast was a good standard and overall the stay was above expectation, only criticism would be stale crisps and the room was too hot.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
WE are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you to otel du Vin again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed over on Bank Holiday Monday for Mrs B's birthday treat and with a DB&B deal it was worth every penny. Great room, ensuite with roll top bath and walk through shower, large TV , a Nespresso coffee machine and a free newspaper. No hotel parking on site, but you do get 25% discount at the NCP. This is the third Hdv we have visited, they are a firm favourite of ours, Henley on Thames is probably the best so far.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beakerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. We hope you enjoy many more Hotel du Vins in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 28 years of marriage We booked their special Friday night tonic costing £195 inc of dinner. We ended up paying £350 because their drinks are so expensive and we did not expect such a high service charge.
But worst than that they only have a few car parking slots and so we had to fill the parking meter before we went to bed, when we got up and again after breakfast.
completes nonsense.
You would think they would have tokens or vouchers so we could relax.
The food is good the drinks are expensive and the location is rubbish.

Room Tip: Arrive by taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aiden3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your time. Apologies that you were not able to get one of the few hotel parking spaces, however there is the alternative of the NCP across the road where we have a discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Hotel Du Vin chain offers great hotels for those weekend get aways. Bristol is no exception. Apart from the limited parking (8 Spaces - there is a NCP across the road a t £15 for the night), the hotel is delightful. Great rooms, lovely staff, great bar and wonderful Breakfast. Worth a punt!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samboii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Please say hello when you next stay as its always nice to get to know our regulars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing