We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncomfortably claustrophobic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We found this hotel conveniently situated, in an interesting building with outdoor and indoor seating areas for eating and drinking. The bed was firm and comfortable, the bathroom dimly lit but with an excellent shower, and the breakfast offered a good choice. But the room we were in, which had a sloping ceiling and wall was over furnished. This meant that fully opening the door of the cupboard which contained hangers, an iron and the trouser press was impossible without moving the standard lamp, easy chair and big screen tv. We guess that all rooms are kitted out with the same furniture but a night in Houghton felt like staying in a furniture store, where you had to be careful not to bump into the goods. The position of the bed also meant you had to take care not to knock your head on the beams when rising from the left hand side. It was all a little too claustrophobic for comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vandasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Vandasin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on HdV Bristol regarding your recent visit here.

I'm pleased to read that you found the hotel's location convenient to explore Bristol from but I was disappointed to read that you found the room claustrophobic.

I appreciate you proving me with such detailed feedback on the room and I wish to assure the amount of furniture in the room will be reviewed immediately.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

746 - 752 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great time here, would highly reccomend to anyone visiting Bristol. Good rooms, nice staff. We'll be back! Bdfjbghbcdgjkvffjbvdfhhnklkfdfgjnkyfdfghjhgffhjhbhkkjvffdfgbbkkhvvhvcfdgjkkgvvgdghjjhffhjjhbhgffhjiuytds

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Laura H,

Thank you for taking some time to write a review on your recent stay here at Hotel du Vin Bristol.

I'm delighted to read that you had an enjoyable visit and that the staff looked after you well.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have stayed at most of the HDV and this is definitely our favourite. So full of character and charm and could not be closer to the shops. We usually stay in a suite but as we were staying only one night we decided to risk the standard rooms even declining a much reduced upgrade and turns out no risk at all! Room was huge with a king sized bed so comfy it's lucky the check out is a welcome midday!! The bath is too die for and so nice to get a hotel bath you can actually soak in, it was so big. The walk in shower would wake anyone up! We sat in the court yard and enjoyed a drink when we returned from the Pony and Trap and the bar staff were great and the mojitos better! We paid about £40 more than if we had stayed in the holiday Inn and it is so well worth the difference and cannot wait to return. (Tip- hide the tasty treats they tempt you with in the wardrobe upon arrival, when you return at night your will power won't be as strong)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pollyanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Pollyanna,

Thank you ever so much for writing a review you recent stay here. I was pleased to read the stay was an enjoyable one and that the mojitos rounded off a perfect night.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We will definitely be back to this charming hotel. A converted sugar warehouse oozing charm and comfort. We had a quiet room round the side with no view but that suited us because we just wanted to sleep not hang out there. The location is great for walking around town or up to the university.

Plenty of public lounge room, great bar and the breakfasts we had were legendary. Kippers (I never cook these at home anymore) perfect, smoked haddock with poached egg, good buffet with pastries and fruit etc. We did not have a dinner here, but it would be fine dining.

We lucked out with one of the hotel parking spots but then did not use the car for two days as we could walk everywhere. Otherwise you need to park in a multi-storey about a block away.

Staff very pleasant and helpful. All round excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kewranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Kewranger,

Thank you for taking some time to write a review on your recent stay here at Hotel du Vin Bristol.

I'm delighted to read that you had an enjoyable visit.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Visited the bistro in Bristol for a second time with my wife, all round excellent. Great food, great service, great wine, great atmosphere! Nothing else to say, just please book a table and enjoy yourself!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YGFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear YGFR,

Thank you for writing a recent review on us here at Hotel du Vin Bristol from your visit in December, I was delighted to read that you had a relaxed and enjoyable meal with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel soon,

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed here before and am always impressed. Its a great hotel with a good feel. Staff all seem genuinely enthusiastic and helpful.

The room was great, ideal for what I seek in a hotel, comfortable but with what you need including a proper desk. Bathroom was great, massive walk through rain show and separate bath tub. Wifi throughout simple, strong and working!

The bar deserves special mention. The drinks menu is extensive and the staff are very knowledgeable about it. This hotel sticks to the old school ways of 'the bar is open until people leave' We did at about 5am in the end - all that time the staff are cheery and helpful.

Breakfast is excellent, cooked to order instead of buffet which is always nice.

Diner in the Bistro also very good. All but one dish around our table of 12 was enjoyed by all.

If you are a light sleeper I would suggest being away from the courtyard which gets noisy from about 6am! Only negative i can think of is that in really hot weather the rooms get very warm (no air con) so remember to leave the windows open!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor courtyard if you like to sleep in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and I hope we can welcome you back to ristol HdV soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed one night in June. The HdV concept is great and Bristol does this very well - the bar is great, rooms are luxurious with huge beds and bathrooms, extensive drinks list and the breakfast was full of good quality produce.

However, the service was disappointing and soured our experience somewhat. This was the end of a longer trip in the southwest of England and we did not end on a high. Firstly, when we arrived reception were vague and unhelpful as to which ncp car park we should use, as the street parking was full. In the absence of clear instructions, we went for the first signs we saw (this was the first trip to Bristol by car for me). Turns out we parked in the wrong one, as the discount card they gave us on exit did not work so our parking was 25% more expensive than it should have been.

The room was nice but I do agree with the blackout curtains comment made in an earlier review and the mattress was a little too firm for my taste.

Finally at breakfast, we were served coffee for one and although the waiter realised his mistake, no second pot was forthcoming. What was even more disappointing was that as our hot dishes arrived I requested more coffee, and this too did not materialise. It wasn't as if the place was busy as there were only 2 other tables.

I really like bristol and the HdV concept so I hope I was just on the receiving end of some unfortunate oversights.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank suzicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine J, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for service being lacking - this is certainly not Hotel du Vin standard and will be addressed with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £116 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing