We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel, excellent food, extensive drink selection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
wendyducati
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel, excellent food, extensive drink selection!”
Reviewed 2 March 2010

One of the best city centre hotels I have stayed in. The building is a great conversion of an old sugar warehouse with oodles of character. Both dinner and breakfast were tip top and the amount of spirits on offer on the drinks menu was truly extensive. I was delving into the Japanese malt whiskey selection as my evenings diversion........

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyducati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    334
    125
    66
    28
See reviews for
154
659
27
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

When choosing between the lack of good hotels in Bristol, I originally chose Hotel du vIn because it seemed more of a boutique hotel than the other large chains on offer. On arrival, though the hotel was littered with fag butts outside, the entrance was quite impressive. When we got out of the elevator to onto the 3rd floor where our room was situated, I was shocked by the amount of rubbish lining the corridor. It was 3pm and there were tonnes of dirty breakfast trays, empty glasses and dirty laundry........and lets just say that the housekeepers weren't quiet, you could hear them gossiping as you walked down the corridor. Anyway, the room looked similar to what it did on the website, the bathroom was impressive though the fan wouldn't turn off so at this point I was relatively content! However, when it came to sleeping, the bed was like a rock - I honestly felt like I was sleeping on the pavement! I had about one hours sleep between the shower dripping all night long, the paper thin walls and the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in!

Would never stay there again - should've saved my money and stayed in the Premier Inn around the corner!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cha1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Wonderful lounge areas and common parts, all so stylishly decorated. Lovely white bedlinen and soft pillows in the bedrooms, Arran Aromatics toiletries in the bathroom and freshly ground coffee and fresh milk in the mini bar. Quality breakfasts, with a range of healthy options and a cooked menu which differs from the usual run of the mill. Very pleasant reception staff and, generally, all was faultless. Only slight word of caution would be that the door to the bathroom is clear-glazed and unlockable!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

I stayed here with my 14-year-old son on a trip to the Banksy installation. The room was in the attic & a bit pokey, but we'd been warned of this when we booked, so that wasn't a problem. The beds were still comfortable, & it was characteristically well-furnished, as are all hotels I've used in the chain. Most importantly - drinkable coffee and a cafetiere in the room. As other reviews have noted, the bathroom was a bit odd, in that the door was glass. Not an enormous problem, in that the door leads to the little vestibule rather than into the room, but my son was initially a little discomfited by it. He soon got over the oddness of the door, however, when he'd tried the shower, which was super. Good dinner, good cocktails, impeccable service. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dr-D-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I was looking forward for my long new years eve break in Bristol.
We decided to go for a more expensive hotel to enjoy the break, but was a disappointment.
To start with, they understand that a King size bed is two single beds put together, with a towel in the middle. We complaint the first day, but they didn't have spare rooms to change us.
On the second day, we had to complain again, and then they change our room, to a king size room (what we had paid for.
The staff was not friendly at all.
For the money we were paying I was expecting a better service.
The rooms were nice, although extremely dark, there was not enough lamps in each room.
I would not recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrodri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

This year we had opportunity to return to Hotel du Vin Bristol in December - we imagined a warm romantic time: drinking red wine nestled in the cosy sofas at the bar, followed by a candlelit dinner in their atmospheric bistro. Unfortunately we were nestled - in our woolen overcoats and scarves - yes even over dinner! To be fair - the radiators were on, but they are not sufficient for the space. So much for changing for dinner - my packed slinky black dress was replaced with two jumpers and a coat, my partner even wanted to adorn his wooly hat! Unless you like being in a fridge, I would suggest you save this hotel for summer.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trufoodie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

(I preface this by stating I have searched high and low for a Customer Relations address on the HDV website but there just isnt one)
We have stayed in at least 3 different Hotel Du Vin properties over the last 3 years and this was the most disappointing. my main gripe is in having to pay for a (supposedly) higher grade room at rack rate for a room that was over the courtyard and hence very noisy until midnight. I feel it incumbent upon a hotel to inform a guest in advance that here are to be 3 simultaneous functions in the hotel , because for sure I would not have stayed the night had I known - given that we had a young child who we put to bed at 8pm.
Dinner and breakfast were average. Room was comfortable and would stay again if I could be sure of getting an appropriate room.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing