We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaican Night - Good food, service and atmosphere”
Review of Rice & Things

Rice & Things
Ranked #458 of 1,595 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Jamaican Night - Good food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Jamaican Night happens the last Friday of every month and it is basically an all you can eat buffet for £10 excluding drinks. There are 2 sittings 6:30 and 8:30 and you absolutely MUST book a table.

My friends eat here regularly and are well known to the staff, but this was my first time and I loved it.

Firstly, you are shown to your table and then you wait for all the other diners to be seated. The hostess bids you a warm welcome, explains the procedures, introduces the staff and the dj and then tells you what's available from the buffet. She is very friendly and welcoming and you can tell she's very proud and excited by the food that they are serving.

Drinks are available from the bar (we had Red Stripe) whilst you wait for your table to be called to go up to the buffet. We sat downstairs (which I preferred as you get to witness the charm and humour of the DJ - legend!) and the food was upstairs. You basically go up and fill your plate, as many times as you like!

There was a huge variety to suit everyone: curried goat, jerk chicken, jerk pork, rice and peas, salt fish etc. The food was steaming hot, spicy and incredibly delicious. The only thing that may put people off was the amount of bones and gristle - so be careful when chewing!

The fact that all the diners eat together in such an intimate space does sound a bit weird, but actually I found it to be one of the best things as it creates a group atmosphere of fun and merriment, and you can't help coming together when laughing and singing along with the DJ, it really creates a holiday moment.
The location is great with The Pipe and Slippers next door and busses and cabs running frequently outside.

For £10 it's great and more of an experience than just a run of the mill meal. I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Basics100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    19
    12
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food but please sort out the waiting staff!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I pretty much concur with the last reviewer. The service was so bad it was almost surreal. Food was great though and excellent value, the shrimp starter was sublime and only £3.50! Such a shame though as we won't be coming back unless they get the service sorted out, as we actually found it quite stressful!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, very poor service”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have to say that the food was absolutely amazing, very good, large portions and authentic.

But!

I most say the service was shockingly bad. The waiters and waitresses understood and spoke very little English, they did not know the menu at all. Three if the items we ordered never arrived. We waited 45 minutes for drinks after asking for them twice.

Would we go again? Yes we would get a takeaway though as we loved the food but found it frustrating waiting do long for service and having to repeat everything several times as the staff didn't understand the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tillytastic87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Monthly Jamaican nights are really fun!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I visited with some friends on Friday night for the monthly Jamaican Night. There are 2 sittings (6.30 or 8.30pm) and booking in advance is essential. £10 buys you all you can eat from the buffet (drinks on top, pay as you go) The food was fantastic! having recently been to Jamaica, I knew this was nice and authentic. Delicious Jerk chicken, curried goat, ribs - really too much to get through! It was good being able to try a bit of everything. You could go back up as many times as you liked. The chef (The one who has been on TV with Jamie Oliver) came out to check everyone was OK or wanted anything else - really good service. It is not the flashiest of restaurants and some may find it a bit 'rustic'... this added to the charm in my opinion, it's all about the food. Lots of people came through the night to pick up takeaways so it is obviously very popular. We were in the last sitting so stayed late (there was a DJ playing reggae and dub) A really fun, different night, will go again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFussyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food - Poor Service”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Food was excellent but the service was very poor. 13 people with only one person serving the food and the drinks. Waitress was a credit to the restaurant as she was extremely helpful and rushed off her feet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rice & Things also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Rice & Things? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing