We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Bristol Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed there for a couple of days when visiting Bristol for a friend's wedding. Excellent room, very comfortable bed and spacious bathroom, with all the amenities and services you may need available. Friendly and helpful staff. As a bonus, they put us in an executive room even though we had booked and paid for a standard one. Very convenient location, close to the station, although admittedly not the nicest or the most happening part of the city. 15 min walk of 5 min taxi to nicer and more lively parts, so that's not a big issue.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kermit_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Novotel Bristol. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    616
    202
    45
    29
See reviews for
322
430
127
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have just got back from the Novotel in Bristol. We did not have such a good time the first time around, but the general managers customer service skills are undoubtably second to none.
We had dinner on the first night, and wow, the service was absolutely superb, somthing you would expect from really top class restaurants. Unfortunately we did not get the ladies name, but she was a chinese lady and she was brilliant. The food was excellent, and well worth the money.
The room was very good with a mini bar, and the beds on the sofa bed were made up but not put down, which was fantastic.
The breakfast again was excellent, you simply could not fault it.

I would like to say thank you to everyone that made our stay very pleasant

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and both me and my team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay this time at Novotel Bristol. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed for one night in April 2012. Got a good rate via Expedia for a room with double and sofa bed as two blokes sharing the room. On arrival we were upgraded to an executive room, with a posh coffee machine and dressing gowns. The former was used, the latter were not.

Room was a little on the small side and the bathroom likewise, with weird doors that raised a slight concern about privacy. But both were very clean and well appointed. The Bose iPod dock was a nice touch, unless you were on the other side of the wall as this tiny device punched well above its weight in the volume stakes.

Parking is on site and a not unreasonable £10 per 24 hours to guests. You can pay a lot more than this in the city, but you can also find free parking if you look. If you want a space, although they seem quite plentiful, it would be easy to imagine the car park filling up as the day goes on.

The lifts from the car park are kind of poky and dated looking and the basement/ground floor areas felt tired in places. But the corridors and rooms were fine.

We didn't have breakfast or dinner on site, although the half price breakfast if you book on arrival offer was decent enough. Chose to go into the city instead. The hotel isn't the best location for people unfamiliar with Bristol but you can get to the bustling harbour side areas in about 5 minutes if you know where you're going. It's a bit longer to get to the commercial centre and shopping. Other hotels are perhaps better placed for a first visit.

Only real complaints were a lack of free wifi and some noise in the corridors at night from drunk guests. Plus the woman who checked us in was pretty surly.

Well worth a look if you can get a good rate.

Room Tip: Smile and ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inspec71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiMcMillan, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Novotel Bristol. Your feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services and indeed the service we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Jacqui McMillan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing