We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 September 2012

stayed here whilst attending a party in Bristol - we live near Bristol so this was the nearest hotel to our part venue- very clean , welcoming , I have stayed ay Novotels all over thew world and they are very consistent , room large, clean , welcoming , the book about Bristol was interesting and we know most of it! The bed was comfy and their were enough towels and linen unlike some continental hotels who try and save in this area
We had drinks in the bar ok and ok priced - reception booked a taxi for us.
Good nights sleep but as ever hotel rooms can be way to hot
Breakfast was good and very tasty - even the coffee was of a reasonable standard
I would go back and stay again very soon and for every furture trip to Bristol - a nice and pleasant stay

Room Tip: I think all rooms should be of the same standard
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, I am very pleased you found the hotel to be a good base for your visit to Bristol and we hope to see you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Bristol Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

I was looking for somewhere central for the family to stay while visiting our daughter who has just started at the University of West England, and liked the location of the Novotel, so we booked a Family Room (2 adults + 2 children) for 1 night + breakfasts. I wasn't expecting such a nice room and an easy check in! Staff helpful and friendly, and the room spotless. The breakfast selection and service the next morning was really good too! I'd find it hard to find somewhere as good at such a reasonable price! Car park was a reasonable £10 for 24hrs, which suited us!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAT2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and fuond the hotel to be good value for money, we hope you will visit us again whilst your daughter is based in Bristol. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Excellent location, short walk from Temple Meads. Checked in before the allocated time of 1400...and it wasn't a problem at all, and very fast. Room size ample. Disappointed in stain in carpet bewteen bed/desk. In bathroom, no shower cap or moisturiser/body lotion, which personally I would expect from a 4* hotel. Also in the bathroom, light casing (bottom left hand side) was cracked/damaged. There were also some little dead flies on bedroom windowsill. Rest of facilities were fine, bedlinen nice & bed aws comfy. Had a bar meal - fish & chips....served on a cold plate & fish had bones in it. Ok granted it didnt say "fillet" of fish on the menu - but maybe menu should then also say "may contain bones". The restaurant/bar area is nice but I visisted on a warm day and would have loved to sit outside....so maybe putting a few tables/chairs outside would be an idea. The staff were amazing. I had a knock on my door in the early eveing to find a coupls saying they had been allocated my roo. I rang reception and they were re-allocated a different room...and I was comped a free drink for the inconvenience. On the whole a good experience, a great location, great staff but a little bit more attention to detail & it would be even better.

Room Tip: Cant fault location for nite out in Bristol
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you very much for your detailed and constructive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay however please accept my apologies for the lapses in service qyuality that you experienced, I shall ensure that we learn from this and take corrective action. I am also very pleased that you were happy with our staff. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Wonderful hotel, nice and helpful staff, clean and large rooms, huge breakfast, good restaurant (a bit expensive), perfect location. Excellent also with children, some toys and a playstation near the reception desk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gianluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your very kind comments. We hope that we will welcome your back soon. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Nice Hotel in great location. Large underground car park is a big plus. Receptionist on check in very nice and professional. The room was clean, but it look bit tired too.However i did expected little bit more from 4 star hotel. The bath plug was broke, when you turned the knob to let the water out it did not work unless you pulled it out completely. No WiFi in the Hotel- they have only broadband, but it's not good if you have only an iPhone with you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcie_Podg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review of your stay. I am sorry that there were some faults with your room. I would however like to point out that we do have WiFi throughout the hotel, provided by Orange, in addition to wired high speed access and complimentary use of AppleMacs in the lobby. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed for three nights with a four year old. Nice size room a little on the bland side but very clean and was cleaned well each day. Mini bar and broadband prices way too expensive. Breakfast very good staff busy but helpful. Ate two nights in restaurant excellent service especially from the Spanish? waitress. Food delicious and well presented well worth the cost. great kids menu. The main things that let it down was poor shower and time to run a bath. And the beds, with the pull out sofa bed you could feel all the springs and I think the floor was softer than the bed. Staff on the whole helpful except when I wanted a post box was told "Up there somewhere" with a vague wave of hand.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you found the water pressure to be low. We are just about to invest in a pressurized system which will erradicate this problem. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My family and I were going to Cornwall on holiday and decided to break the long journey up by stopping overnight in bristol. We needed a family room to sleep 4 and it was nearly impossible to find most I searched did not cater for families. After alot of searching i settled with Novotel who were offering free breakfast with the room price. The room was basic but clean the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was lovely. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesweetieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

I was very pleased to read that you found our hotel to be a great stopover on your way to Cornwall. Other guests may like to note that we are a very family friendly hotel and many of our rooms have double and twin pull out sofabeds, so can accommodate families with two children. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £74 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing