We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room condition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This covers the third visit to this hotel in as many weeks (the prior two without incident). The keycard did not unlock the door so assistance was sought on return to Reception. On entering the room it had clearly been occupied since servicing with bed linen ruffled and 'dusted' with what seemed to be cigarette ash and the bathroom toileteries 'dis-arranged'. The connecting door to the adjacent room was unlocked and my conclusion was that the adjacent occupiers had found themselves with the opportunity to use both rooms and had done so up to the time of my arrival. this was reported to Reception staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry about this, if you plan to stay with us again please let me know so that I can try to make amends. My email address is tim.howes@accor.com Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Booked this hotel for a business trip and for what I paid expected a bit more. Hotel and room were pretty much average "chain hotel" standard although the location is very central for Bristol. Saving grace for me was the hotel fitness suite which had a good selection of different exercise machines as well as a sauna and steam room. Breakfast again was pretty much average, buffet type set up. As a further positive the hotel staff were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you your review and for your positive comments about our staff. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

WARNING
I made a genuine mistake with a booking that I made with the Novotel in Bristol - booking a date that was later than intended. I arrived at the Novotel and they refused to alter the booking. I had to pay extra as a walk in. I stayed and was told to speak to Expedia and then the manager about getting a refund. NOT A HOPE! My advice is book with a hotel and a chain that is more flexible. There are plenty of choices in Bristol - don't use this one!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Lynne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were frustrated in this way. I would like to point out to other travellers however that our pricing policy is clear and transparent, particularly with regard to pre-paid rates, some of which are neither transferable nor refundable. We always have flexible rates available which allow a booking to be cancelled without charge up until 2.00pm on the day of arrival, for those who wish to have a greater degree of flexibility. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here while we were seeing Bristol and Bath for a few days. It was nice and central and easy to walk around the city; we took a room upgrade and it was very comfy,coffee machine and big bathroom

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for choosing to use the Novotel as you base for your visit to Bristol, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Novotel. For a start it really is very close to Temple Meads Station so no need for taxis to get to it if arriving by rail. The downside of this is that the shopping and historic parts of Bristol are a short walk away and the immediate surroundings are modern and mostly office buildings.
I had a standard room and it was comfortable, reasonable size for the price and with a small but adequate bathroom. My only gripe was the artwork which, having stayed in other Novotels, was very familiar. It would be nice if chains moved away from making all their rooms near-identical. It wouldn't cost much and would make the hotels feel more individual.
My room was at the front of the building so faced onto a busy road. I cannot grumble about the soundproofing, most of the traffic noise was kept out but the road seemed to be a favourite for emergency vehicles whose sirens did penetrate the glazing. If you are a light sleeper, it might be better to ask for a room on the other side of the building.
I had an evening meal in the hotel restaurant. Like the bar it is a rather bland room but the seats were comfortable and the staff very helpful. The food was tasty but I felt the portions were a little on the small side. Not nouvelle cuisine small but 10% larger would have made all the difference.
Breakfast was adequate. There was a modest range of cereals and a better spread of cold meats, cheese, fruit etc. However, I found the cooked food a little underwhelming.
I was attending a business meeting at the hotel and the meeting room was fine for our group. Coffee breaks were in the foyer with fruit, cakes and, unusually, pick and mix sweets available. Free WiFi was much appreciated.
I have not given the hotel 5 stars because I feel that a few changes would make the visitor experience even better but I would happily revisit this hotel and would recommend it to others.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Geepjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your recommendation. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Novotel Bristol Centre.Not a Hotel I knew as a Bristolian, so new to me.It was also 4 star.Executive Room was very clean with all mod cons but on the small side as I didnt consider the price cheap.Short walk from the Centre. Gave me the impression it was a Business venue although efforts have been made to put in child friendly areas.Breakfast was average , would like to see more diversity as it is 4 star! Staff were very accomodating. Bar area is ok but the lack of atmosphere does not encourage
a long stay.If the bar wants to compete with the nearby attractions it needs to step up a
gear. Would stay again but could not say the hotel was memorable!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for taking the tme to post your review and I am pleased that your first experience at the Novotel Britol was a positive one. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed five nights this week found staff very helpful and pleasant, service in restaurant good. Room noisy at rear of building on second floor due to wheelie bins been emptied each morning between 4.30-5.30am. Very handy for train station and city centre about 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apoligies for the disturbance from the refuse colection. In fact this was from the adjacent building as our own refuse is not collected until later in the morning. I will try and get the collection schedule for next door changed. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £53 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing