We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for Bristol and its attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location for Bristol and its attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel. It is convenient to walk into Bristol for the harbourside as well as for the central shopping. On this occasion, it was a five minute walk to Temple Meads Station and we took the train to Bath for the day [15 minutes each way - £7 day return]
The hotel is clean and efficient though they need to watch things do not deteriorate as some of the decor is getting a bit worn. We had breakfast on both days of our stay [included in the price] and there was a good selection of both hot and cold food on the buffet. On weekdays, it is served until 9.30am and they do clear up promptly at this time though they do check with you that you are happy for them to start.
Note that there is a charge of £10 per day to park the car in their underground car park

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandytimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    622
    206
    47
    31
See reviews for
326
436
128
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I have stopped in many many hotels in bristol and this is great if you get a deal! Staff super great! Rooms where average but very clean. Did not eat in hotel but looked very busy. Car park was a little tight on spacing, even though it says for customers only the bloke at reception when I got there was from a local firm paying for parking !,,, would I stop again yes I would!

Room Tip: Try to keep of main road side as very busy road but no great drama
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the location of the hotel. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Last minute one night break to see children at university so got a good deal on the room. Location is in the business district so quiet at week ends but less than 10 minute walk to harbour side. Reception staff were helpful and efficient. Room was very big with comfortable double bed and sofa/pull out bed, so good for families, although they may want bath, rather than just shower. Free bottled water was a nice touch. Gym was well equipped with treadmills and machines and all seemed pretty new but sauna and steam room slightly disappointing, latter not really hot enough. Went out in the city for dinner but had breakfast in hotel. This was on offer for £7.95 (normally £13.95). At £7.95 it was very good value (going out would be c£10 for same) for normal fare but food was always topped up and hot and the staff were attentive. I paid for my son to come over and he definitely got his money's worth! All in all a comfortable and hassle free stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WymeswoldOFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you again next time you are visiting your son. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We spent two rainy, blustery nights here and the inclement weather was warmer than the reception we received. Front desk staff were neither warm nor welcoming and seemed interested only in selling upgrades to rooms and services. Responses to questions about the area were either terse or inaccurate. The hotel itself is well located only a few blocks from the old town. There are pubs and restaurants nearby. The rooms are large and well appointed. The beds are comfortable. There is free wi-fi and quality toiletries. It would be an excellent choice in accommodation if staff were friendlier and more helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the lack or warmth displayed by our reception staff, this is very surprising as we normally receive very positive comments about this team. I shall share your comments with them. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Had a really lovely weekend in this hotel in Bristol. A 10 minute walk from the station it was located ideally for transport links and a short walk into the central town area. The room was spacious and ideal. Clean bathroom and towels as expected. The bar area was tidy and relaxing. The bed was perfect and the sizeable sofa bed was lovely although we didnt need it on this occasion. I will definitely be back here soon!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your weekend break with us, thank you very much for taking the troube to post your review. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Novotel for one night while in Bristol as it was very convenient to Temple Meads Train Station.

Check in was fast and efficient and I was offered a complimentary newspaper to my room in the morning which was a nice touch.

The Room was very well appointed with bathrobes, a nespresso machine and a fridge with complimentary bottled water. These small touches really go a long way for someone travelling away from home.

The bathroom had an excellent array of toiletries - in fact better than a lot of 5* hotels I have stayed in. My only niggle was that the showerhead could have done with a good clean.

The complimentary Wi-Fi was of a high speed.

The bar was very comfortable to enjoy a drink before bed and the staff here were friendly and professional without being intrusive.

Breakfast on the other hand was not of a good standard. Upon arriving to breakfast, the Supervisor on the door told me that my breakfast was not included. I told her it was and had to return to my room to retrieve my booking confirmation email to prove to her it was. I told her that this was bad customer service but she didn't seem to be interested and no apology offered for the confusion on their end.

The quality of the food at breakfast was sub-standard. The scrambled eggs were the worst I ever ate - flavourless and very runny. The toaster only toasts the bread on one side and not very well. I had to put 2 slices of bread through four times to actually get the bread slightly brown on both sides. The food was actually displayed in Le Cruset dishes which dismays me. Terrible food in the most expensive of dishes.

Overall the hotel facilities are very good. The rooms are well appointed with very nice amenities that provide that "extra touch". But skip the breakfast and go room only as the breakfast just isn't up to a 4* standard.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HotelGuestIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received at breakfast on this occasion, this is certainly not up to our usual standards. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Novotel's and others in the Accor chain are always of a similar standard. This one is no different. It's pretty quiet for a location close to the centre of Bristol and good value for money, the breakfast bar is standard...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boycie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing