We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay with husband and 14 yr old son. Hotel was spotless, room very comfortable and even though we were overlooking the main road it was very quiet. Very good choice for breakfast, enough to fill you up until tea time! Novotel's policy of child prices up to age 16 is excellent as not many hotels in the area were offering family rooms. I would definitely return and recommend to others!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennaeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation, we are very proud of our family friendly policy. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    622
    206
    47
    31
See reviews for
327
439
128
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

What a delightful hotel. Receptionist knew his job - polite, helpful and interested. Managed the process in an individualised way.

Room was great - not one mumble or grumble. Nice to have a small fridge with milk for tea. Good bed, good bed linen, effective shower and nice towels.

Breakfast room very pleasant. Good selection of hot and cold food. Staff that cared for the people and the environment.

Overall top marks.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay, I am delighted that you found everything to your liking. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for a work trip because our usual hotels had no availability at short notice.

The hotel was a pleasant surprise even after I had read several very good reviews. The room was better than it looks in the photos: much larger than rooms in hotels in a similar price range.

Free wi-fi for 24 hours was welcome. Although I was there for 2 nights it did not expire so I assume the 24 hours is on-line time rather than actual time. There is the facility to upgrade to a premium (paid for) service, and a package which includes broadband and extra channels on the TV, but I did not make use of this.

Breakfast was well stocked and service was friendly and efficient. The reception, bar and restaurant areas were pleasant and well equipped. One thing I've not seen anywhere else is that they have a couple of little tables for one, equipped with screens and headsets. This is a thoughtful touch for business people travelling alone.

Another unusual and welcome feature was that I was offered the choice of a bath or a shower, meaning I didn't have to climb into the bath to have a shower.

The hotel is within a short walk of Bristol Temple Meads, and is also only 15 minutes from Cabot Circus where there is a wide range of restaurants.

The only complaint I have is that there was no Radio 4 available. The only channels were Radio 1, 2 and 5 live.

Room Tip: They have rooms with walk in showers so if it's not offered and you have a preference it may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0vaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to inform you that we have just upgraded all our televisions and a full line up of TV and radio channels, including Radio 4, is now available. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Booked this for its location and heard good reviews.
Firstly it seemed ok. got to the room, bathroom could have done with a clean, 4 hairs left in the bath and one on the toilet seat itself, not overly pleased with this as it wouldnt have taken a cleaner a few minutes to wipe around the edges.
The room was overlooking the bins.. not the best but i spose someone had to have that room, i paid £10 for parking even thought the barrier was up on the way in, and up on the way out, if i hadnt mentioned that i had a car parked in the carpark i wouldnt have had to pay as i overhead another member of staff advising someone that the barrier was up and no need to pay the £10 for 24 hours.. slightly miffed at this.

Breakfast, our order was taken.. then the food was delivered to another table. they started eating from it and we noticed the mistake, the waitress took the plate that the man was eating from and went to the kitchens (i guess) then came back with in minutes and gave me the plate.. same food from the other guest.

if you wanted tomato sauce. it wasnt in sachets or a squirty bottle just one big dip pot. which had a roast potato in it, not sure when from, possibly the night before. all minor details that if a waitess had seen could have got a fresh pot.

Would i stay again? probably not, paid £70 for the room and wish i hadnt

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L3MAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay and I appreciate your feedback. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

The room was very clean and the bathroom was lovely and modern. However, our room was on the roadside of the building and was very noisy at night and in the morning. Also the bed was not very comfortable :( We paid £40 for the room at a discounted rate. Just glad we didnt pay full price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you were disappointed by certain aspects of your stay. If you have a momenent to spare I would be grateful to know which room you occupied, I can be contacted at tim.howes@accor.com Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I visited this Novotel and loved every moment. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the staff were wonderful and friendly from start to finish. We were welcomed with open arms. Will definitely return in future!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and received a warm welcome, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aude
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We booked for three nights through Accor fidelity scheme, which provided a very favourable deal.

When we arrived we were allocated a different room from the one reserved and no explanation was given. We were given 402, which has to be one of the noisiest rooms ever. Impossible to sleep as result of the noise and constant vibration.

We requested a room change after two sleepless nights and the reception was efficient and concerned for our well-being.

Rooms at the rear are quieter. Some maintenace needed in bathrooms - minor mould, but not offensive. Comfortable beds with duvets.

Front of house staff are caring, friendly and efficient.

TV in bar is a bit intrusive.

Breakfast is a feast and the bar snacks are good. Draught beer and choice wines.

Transport links to airport via airport-flyer every 10 minutes with stop outside the hotel.

Walking distance to town centre.

Would recommend and return, but never in a room on the 4th floor!

Room Tip: Not room 402, or the 4th floor; Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudePixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apologies for the mix up with your room allocation but thank you for your feedback. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing