We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City centre value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“City centre value”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Well located close to Bristol centre, good parking, and friendly staff. We struggled with the free WiFi which was intent on dragging us into an upgrade, but thank goodness for 3G!
Comfortable rooms, excellent buffet breakfast, we would return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, although I am sorry you experienced problems with the free wifi. Tim HOwes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    629
    206
    47
    31
See reviews for
328
445
128
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely room. Very clean. Given the choice of a room with a shower or a bath, which was novel. Bar was an amiable place to be and was doing a roaring trade in food. My only gripe, and it's very minor, wad to be expected to pay £2.50 for a bottle of still mineral water from the mini bar. Paying nearly £90 for my one night stay, without breakfast, I felt a complimentary bottle of water would've been appreciated

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jerryhill057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The policy of charging for water is currently under review and I appreciate your feedback on this. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stopped here for 3 nights on business.
The hotel itself is very nice & well positioned for the City centre, with underground parking at £10 per night.
The rooms were modern & beds comfortable. Breakfast was ok but nothing exceptional, I ate in the hotel on just one occasion, opting for the buffet which was again ok but nothing special.
Would have given 4 stars if it hadn't been for the complete rip off scam the hotel operates in charging for what appears to be complementary bottles of water in the room.
When I arrived in the room there were 4 small bottles of water in the fridge. There was no note on the fridge or in the room reading material stating that there is a charge for the water, so on the 1st night I opened one. Thank goodness I only opened 1.
Upon checking out, I noticed a charge of £5 for the mini-bar, and when questioned the French receptionist stated that the prices for the water were on the fridge - they were not!!
The receptionist showed no interest in my complaint and mid conversation was distracted with someone trying to get out of the car-park & totally swept aside my issue. I was tight for time & didn't wish to make a scene, so left it there.
To conclude - decent hotel, but £5 for a bottle of water is ridiculous, particularly when the price isn't advertised, and the attitude of the receptionist was very poor. Will think twice before I book into this Novotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whukev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry about the attitude of our receptionist in handling your complaint. Please accept my apologies that there was no tariff on your minibar door, we are checking all the rooms to make sure this is in place. The bottles of water are in fact £2.50 each. If you would care to contact me at tim.howes@accor.com I will happily process a refund for the amount you paid for water on this occasion. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

On returning to my car after making an enquiry for a room I fell over the sloping curb outside of the hotel entrance. The resulting two severely sprained wrists meant the day I had to spend in Bristol was spent lying down in pain. The remaining two weeks I had as an international vistor in the UK has been ruined by the ongoing pain and need for splints on both wrists. The hotel manager's response to my predicament was focussed entirely on limiting any possible claim he thought I might make against the hotel. I had and still have no intention of making a claim against the hotel. I had hoped for some assistance in cleaning my coat smeared from the fall and an offer of accommodation to ease the diffculty I was facing in looking for a room in an unknown city while injured and encumbered with luggage. All I got was a conversation about the hotel's need to avoid any potential liability. Hopefully the management will take a serious look at the kerb and do something to avoid someone else hurting themselves. I won't stay in a Novotel place again ever.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take health and safety very seriously and have assessed the paving outside the hotel and found that it is fit for purpose. I take issue with how you have portrated the nature of our conversation in your review. I am sure other guests will appreciate that when I receive a call out of the blue and someone completely unknown to us is asking for a free room, I am obliged to take a cautious approach, particularly as you did not report the incident a the time but waited until the following day. I am sorry that you have been left with a negative impression of Novotel. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed here on a few occasions and to date haven't had a bad stay. I wouldn't say I am wowed by anything but equally you could do a lot worse.
The check in was slick, the room is exactly what you expect from a chain hotel with the usual amenities. The main issue is that it lacks any sort of personality but then again that may be comforting as you know what you are getting.
The room was clean and modern, the breakfast was exactly what you expect (a self service buffet) & the evening meal good value (I had the three course for £21 deal) if you have the offer.
The real positive was the restaurant staff who were attentive & very polite throughout.
The hotel is nice & close to the city centre (5/10 min walk) & offers car parking at a cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soundbites30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, especially regarding our restaurant staff, who will be delighted to know their efforts are appreciated. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing