We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run and Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very enjoyable night with a welcoming reception and good rooms. A pleasant and engaging atmosphere. All staff were welcoming and breakfast was excellent. Would recommend. Good location and a well run Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be welcoming. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,559 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here 3 nights in February in an executive room, the parking (£10pn on top of a full price) was convenient and the reception, lounge, and restaurant areas looked splendid. The room on the 4th floor had queen bed, usual desk unit, 1 easy chair, table, fridge, kettle, and nespresso but felt small and was short on drawers. The bathroom looked nice with separate shower and bath but glass panel doors opened onto the bedside, OK for one person but light disturbing for others at night. It also lacked a make up mirror and the pop up drain plugs didnt pop up enough. Overall the room felt like a 3* standard with a big bed and price, bit small for 2, probably OK for 1.

Room Tip: High floor away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captnkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is much appreciated. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Well located close to Bristol centre, good parking, and friendly staff. We struggled with the free WiFi which was intent on dragging us into an upgrade, but thank goodness for 3G!
Comfortable rooms, excellent buffet breakfast, we would return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isaac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, although I am sorry you experienced problems with the free wifi. Tim HOwes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely room. Very clean. Given the choice of a room with a shower or a bath, which was novel. Bar was an amiable place to be and was doing a roaring trade in food. My only gripe, and it's very minor, wad to be expected to pay £2.50 for a bottle of still mineral water from the mini bar. Paying nearly £90 for my one night stay, without breakfast, I felt a complimentary bottle of water would've been appreciated

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jerryhill057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The policy of charging for water is currently under review and I appreciate your feedback on this. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Attadalephil
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank A_reviewer57
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stopped here for 3 nights on business.
The hotel itself is very nice & well positioned for the City centre, with underground parking at £10 per night.
The rooms were modern & beds comfortable. Breakfast was ok but nothing exceptional, I ate in the hotel on just one occasion, opting for the buffet which was again ok but nothing special.
Would have given 4 stars if it hadn't been for the complete rip off scam the hotel operates in charging for what appears to be complementary bottles of water in the room.
When I arrived in the room there were 4 small bottles of water in the fridge. There was no note on the fridge or in the room reading material stating that there is a charge for the water, so on the 1st night I opened one. Thank goodness I only opened 1.
Upon checking out, I noticed a charge of £5 for the mini-bar, and when questioned the French receptionist stated that the prices for the water were on the fridge - they were not!!
The receptionist showed no interest in my complaint and mid conversation was distracted with someone trying to get out of the car-park & totally swept aside my issue. I was tight for time & didn't wish to make a scene, so left it there.
To conclude - decent hotel, but £5 for a bottle of water is ridiculous, particularly when the price isn't advertised, and the attitude of the receptionist was very poor. Will think twice before I book into this Novotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whukev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry about the attitude of our receptionist in handling your complaint. Please accept my apologies that there was no tariff on your minibar door, we are checking all the rooms to make sure this is in place. The bottles of water are in fact £2.50 each. If you would care to contact me at tim.howes@accor.com I will happily process a refund for the amount you paid for water on this occasion. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £57 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing