We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't call it my kind of hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I wouldn't call it my kind of hotel...”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I found this hotel very basic and a bit scruffy. I've been to other Novotels and this one was by far the worst. It is well located for Bristol's city centre but that alone shouldn't make it four stars….

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakira777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain F, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I’m sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and have noted your comments about the condition of the building which we are addressing. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    622
    206
    47
    31
See reviews for
326
436
128
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here numerous times over the last 6 years and a lot in the last year. The reason for this review is to point out that getting a decent breakfast here on a Saturday morning is very difficult. They just can't cope with the number of people. I went to eat at 8am and the place was full and there was a waiting area.. they eventually put people in the bar area which has unsuitable table and chairs for breakfast. When you do get seated the food runs out, no fried eggs, no mushrooms, no beans and no yoghurt. The waitress asks you if you want tea, yes please, but then never returned - she was probably frying eggs!
So my tip is to go to breakfast very early or very late when staying on Friday night into Saturday morning.
The weekdays are normally fine.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ianto693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain F, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit and I’m
delighted that you enjoyed your stay however, I have noted your comments about the breakfast service on the Saturday morning to which we have since addressed. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a Christmas party, for the price I payed I wasn't expecting to much, however the hotel was really good value for money, it was in a good location, close enough to walk from the train station and close enough to the main shopping area to walk.

The room was spacious and was quiet, the bathroom was big enough and wardrobe space was decent.

The receptionist was friendly and gave advice on were to eat and spend the day, we went and walked over the Clifton suspension bridge which is a ten minute taxi journey away, I would really recommend it although DONT LOOK DOWN!

The breakfast was nice and I would stay here again!

Tip: really nice pub called "seamus o'donnells" it's located on corn street about a 10 minute walk away, nice, small, friendly pub.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain F, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we shall certainly look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed for one night and staff were friendly and helpful.Room was spotless and within walking distance to city centre and train station and I had a good nights sleep. I didn't eat in the hotel so i cant comment. Overall great hotel and would stay again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain F, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on the novotel web site directly to get the best rates available in addition, you will also be elligible for points with our loyalty program 'Le Club'. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunnik, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are very happy to have stayed in this hotel, with our 8 month baby. Great service for the baby (babybed/chair), we made reservations for the Executive suite (only 1) as the lady from the reception recommended this (Anais) and it was fantastic. The baby slept in the first part of the room and we slept in the bedroom. Very satsisfied about breakfast as well. Lots of choices, kids friendly. Situated very close (10 min walk) to down town Bristol. Would stay there again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Executive suite is only 30 pounds a night more expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyto2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain F, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back soon and remember to always check out the Novotel web site directly for the best deals available. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing