We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2009

This is a very good hotel.
I went to Bristol in September 2008 for a long weekend, and in that case, this hotel is certainly above average.
The people from the staff were very nice.
I'm from Holland and although I speak English fluently, one man from the staff had worked in Holland before and talked to me in Dutch.
The room I stayed in was very good.
Everything was clean, and there was a High Quality wide-screen TV.
The breakfasts I had there were also very nice.
The hotel is pretty much in the city centre, and you just have to walk for a few moments before you get to shopping centre's etc.
There also was a small supermarket a few metres from the hotel, which was good because I arrived in the evening, and I wanted to buy some drinks.
Although the hotel is in the center of the city, there wasn't any noise from outside in my room, so I could sleep well.
When I went on my way home, checking out of the hotel was very easy.
I'd certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VRomeijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    631
    206
    47
    31
See reviews for
330
446
128
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We really enjoyed this well located hotel, 2 steps from the main train station and close to museum, theater, new shopping center Cabot Circus and lively center. The staff was very kind and helpful with us, they well advised us regarding sightseeing and exhibition. The room was modern, clean and so comfortable with its large bed with duvet. We got both bathtub and shower in the bathroom it was nice. We also appreciate a lot the restaurant, the food was excellent and generous. They have a relevant concept, you eat the size that suits you, like a taster or a starter or a main course so it was the best way for us to try so many courses. Therefore we especially recommend this friendly hotel, just like it was our sweet home. We will come back with friends.

  • Liked — the comfort
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zouklove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Extremely frightened by the whole experience..
A group of 5 girls booked 3 rooms between us. The poor girl in room on her own found naked man in her bed in middle of night. He obviously had card key.
Whole scary situation very badly dealt with- complete brush off from mangement- They refused to call police. We think they knew him or they worked there.
Cos we booked through GTA hotels hotel would not refund money for room, even though we all ended up sharing 2 rooms.
Very scary experience - would never stay in any hotel room as a single girl again. And just cannot believe the treatment we got from hotel management after it all.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank IrelandClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

The hotel is well located near Temple Meads station so is a great base to explore other cities in the area as well as Bristol. The room was spacious although not enough of the space was devoted to storage. For instance there are no drawers and the wardrobe is actually only half the size it appears with the middle section being a panel to cover wiring or plumbing (I didn't remove it to check!) There were a lot of facilities in the room though, such as tea/coffee making, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, air conditioning, flat screen TV with Freeview (poor picture quality) with instructions in a dozen different languages, movies on cable (extra) and wireless broadband (extra). The bed was queen size and very comfortable. The shower and bath controls were unnecessarily complicated but worked eventually.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant on the ground floor and was a mixture of buffet style with some hot dishes included. The veggie sausage on the menu never appeared on any of the 3 nights we stayed (to be fair we never asked). although not brillliant there was certainly enough to have something different every day. Also in the reception area were free newspapers, free PS2 games and they had a ticketting system for left suitcases which was reassuring. All in all we were very satisfied with this hotel for the price we paid - around £70 a night for the double room. However, the usual room rate of £135 seemed a bit excessive. Get a package or special offer and you wll be more than happy.

  • Liked — Space, comfy bed and location
  • Disliked — Lack of storage and gym was closed
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Murgatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Conveniently located within a 10-minute walk from Bristol Temple Mead station. I stayed on business. Room was large, comfortable and clean with a comfortable bed. There is broadband access in the room (fee payable per 24 hours). Staff were friendly. Breakfast was average but perfectly acceptable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambridge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

The hotel has nice large rooms and the staff are very friendly indeed. Breakfast was OK but the tables for two with the TV attached are uncomfortable as the chairs are too low. Was offered a complimentary independent paper and received The Sun for which I was billed (didn't pay for the Murdoch trash off course!)
The hotel has an underground car park which is handy for bristol and they charge £5 per 24 hours which is reasonable. The entrance is somewhat strange with the pool, a stair case to reception and lift, it's not very welcoming and looks odd. The beds are tad soft for my liking. This hotel has been refurbished but still looks a bit tired in places.

  • Liked — location and room size
  • Disliked — the soft bed
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iandevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

I decided whilst in the UK i wanted to visit Bath and since Bristol is only a 15 min train ride and a bigger city i thought it might be better to base myself here being that Bristol is a bigger town.

Booked 3 nights at the Novotel and arrived on National Express from London. Once the cab driver had picked me up from the bus station and driven me to the Novotel i was checked in by a pleasant guy who i think may have been french, The room was on the second floor, Clean, Looked like it had been renovated a few years ago. The Plasma Tv was a nice surprise and i had about 30+ channels. The Mini bar was well stocked and the bathroom had nice little shampoos/gels etc. The only thing i could find fault with in the room was the shower had quite a lot of grout, Whilst i understand this happens in hotels it looked like the Shower hadn't been cleaned in quite awhile! As the mould looked rather set in!

The Gym is closed until the end of September 2008 which i found a little dissapointing (Although i realise these rooms need to be renovated every few years) and although i didn't try the downstairs restaurant i did order room service one night and found the staff very professional, timely and courteous!

The location was about 15 mins walk from the restaurant strip of the city centre, But there was a pub a few doors away and a convienience store open till late just across the street and down a bit.

I highly recommend a day trip to Bath but Bristol itself... If you're doing the same thing as me stay in Bath! I just didnt find Bristolians on the whole overly friendly, And the city is nowhere near as pretty as Bath.

However if i am ever back in Bristol (Which i doubt) i'd be happy to stay here again, Not overly spectacular, Not overly Bad, Just your average hotel i'd say!

  • Liked — Clean Rooms and the surrounding area did seem safe
  • Disliked — Shower a little bit dirty!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Harvsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing