We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay- very central & lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay- very central & lovely rooms”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed at the Novotel Bristol on a hen weekend and got a great deal with a company called Awesome Weekends. Upon arrival the receptionist was very helpful and gave us a map of the town & told us where to head for the shops/bars etc.

The rooms were immaculate, really clean and to a very high standard- nice flat screen TV, big shower and the bed was very comfy.
The breakfast was definitley the best I've ever had in a hotel! It was buffet style with a huge choice of cooked breakfast, fruit, cereal, pastries- it was was all really nice!

The hotel is about 10mins walk from Bristol Temple Meads station & about 15mins walk to the shopping centre at Calbot Circus. We got taxis to the bars & clubs as most of them seemed to be quite spread out and it was freezing!

I would definitly stay there again- but is worth shopping around for the best deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 1 October 2010
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Bristol Centre again very soon. Kind regards, Stuart Symes Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    622
    206
    47
    31
See reviews for
326
436
128
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We stayed one night after flying into Bristol airport before onward travel, the Airport bus stops a short walk away and also very convenient for Bristol Templemeads Station. Two excellent pubs almost next door and a 10 minute walk to lots of restaurants. We received a very warm welcome at the hotel, check in was quick and easy. The main reception area, bar and restaurant are all clean and very modern. Our room was spacious and at the back of the hotel, but there was some traffic noise. We couldn't get the air con to work effectively, and the bathroom had a sort of folding door, which makes the most of the space, but wasn't great for privacy. Got a great deal on the hotel's own website which made this a very good place to stay for our overnighter.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay at Novotel Bristol Centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Patrick Chmielewski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I stay at this hotel weekly and it is a very clean and well run hotel. The staff are warm and friendly and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Patrick Chmielewski - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Receptionist on arrival could not understand that my room had been prepaid and wanted to charge me again for my 5 night stay. First room allocated was not suitable. No couch, No shelves and no drawers. Management agreed that it was only suitable for and overnight stay and not for the time that I had booked. I was given another room and that was acceptable.
Reception area looks as though it has had most of the furnishings removed -- very spartan.
Breakfast buffet had a large selection and most of it was OK.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind regards, Patrick Chmielewski - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in July en route home to Glasgow from Cornwall with my wife and 3 young boys (ages 7,5 and 2). We used the Bristol Novotel as a base to go to Longleat Safari park and Bath (both reviewed separately) and were pretty pleased with our stay.

We had a family room with a double bed, fold down sofa bed (which is actually two single camp style beds) and travel cot. The room was clean, spacious and, unlike the other two novotels, had air con and a fridge. On the downside, as there is a lot of room there is not a lot of storage space for clothes (esp for a family of five), the TV reception in the room was pretty poor and the shower screen could have done to be a bit bigger (resulting in wet and very slippy tiled floor) - but overall we were very happy with the room.

We had stayed in the Novotel in Coventry and Manchester during this trip, (as you can book rooms using Tesco vouchers at Novotel with a minimun 2 night stay), and found the Bristol hotel to be the best of the lot. Check in and out was straight forward and courteous and found the staff as a whole to be very friendly and helpful.

The hotel location is excellent, only 10 minute walk from the city centre and the hop on hop off bus tour has a stop right outside the hotel. Reception can provide you with a street map to help you find your way around. Bristol itself is a nice city but maybe not the best place for a young family on a Saturday night as there were a lot of adult parties out in the city centre, but the waterfront makes for a very nice walk in the evening.

Food in the hotel was overall very good, plenty to choose from at breakfast and a good selection for all the family. The only niggle is why they didn't have baby seats sitting ready to be used - the waitress had to go and hunt for one every morning - not great with a cranky baby ! We had dinner there one evening and although a bit expensive it was reasonable for a city centre hotel. The choice was varied for adults and kids and most importantly tasty and well made. The kids were given activity packs to keep them amused and were treated very well by the staff who were again friendly and attentive at all times.

The only major bug bear about this hotel is the parking costs - £10 per day and that is the residents rate - Coventry was only £3 for the entire stay ! A bit annoying to settle your bill and still have this to pay.

Overall a pleasent stay and should I be back in the Bristol area I would look to book again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel in Bristol very soon. Kind regards, Patrick Chmielewski - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

A fairly standard Novotel, beds were comfy and rooms quite spacious. A 10 minute walk to the city centre, An underground car park is payable to the hotel at £10 per day, anyone with a big car will have to manouvre carefully as the spaces were tiny. Breakfast was good, and we enjouyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Bristol Centre again very soon. Kind regards, Patrick Chmielewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Stayed here for a Friday and Saturday night. Booked the hotel on internet via a third party website and got double room for £71/night not including breakfast when the rate at the hotel was £169/night so worth looking about for good deal.
The location is excellent and 10 minutes walk from Cabot Circus and Broadmead. The harbour is about 15 minutes walk in the other direction.
Parked at the hotel for £10 per day which I don't think is unreasonable. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment but the restaurant looked ok. There is a Starbucks on the same street towards the city centre so used that for breakfast and there are numerous other place to eat within walking distance.
The room was a good size along with the bathroom but there was only a shower in the room and no bath which was disappointing. I'm not sure if that is the same with all the rooms. The bed was a little hard but otherwise comfortable and the A/C in the room was adequate but could have been a little colder.
Overall, for a weekend away and as a base to sightsee or shop, I would certainly recommend this hotel but only if you can get a rate cheaper than the hotel's own advertised one.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, 16 August 2010
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Bristol Centre very soon. Kind regards, Patrick Chmielewski - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing