We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average quality, no restaurant, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average quality, no restaurant, good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I regularly stay in IHG branded hotels and generally choose the express chain for convenience. this particular hotel is around 15 minutes walk from Bristol Parkway station and weather permitting, it is a nice walk.

On arrival at the hotel, it is well presented, situated between a Sainsbury’s and a modern family pub. The check-in process is smooth and you are in your room in no time at all. The only negative I have at this point is my room's location, close to the lift. I was repeatedly awoken by "doors closing" and "third floor", slightly frustrating to say the least!

The major downside I saw with this hotel was the lack of restaurant, meaning I have to dine at the overpriced pub next door. If you have a car, it's not a problem, but if you're on foot, you're trapped, unless you want to venture down the road to McDonalds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobG520d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Rob, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you found the location of your room noisy. If you do visit us again, please let me know and I will ensure your room is away from the lift. Also Frankie and Benny's family restaurant has just opened across the road from the hotel and we can now offer our guests 20% off of the main menu after 5pm. A Nando's is also due to open next week. We can now offer our guests much more choice for dining in the evening which is great news. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    284
    125
    29
    8
See reviews for
139
207
45
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We used this as a stop off between Cornwall & NEC and so we could see son at UWE. Good location, friendly staff, nice fresh room, T&C fac, free parking/Wi-Fi and breakfast - what's not to like. Will definitely use again when next in the area....thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sensible2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
It’s great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for your comments. I do hope you will visit the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I chose Holiday Inn Express because I had read an article by Alex Polizzi and she reckoned that they were the best of the relatively cheap chain hotels.
The parking is good, the welcome was good and the room was too. Plenty of pillows, both hard and soft. Lighting could be brighter.
The breakfast is part of the package but it is not a part to really look forward to! The croissants were very solid, only bread was cheap white sandwich type. It does give you a start to the day but it was a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Gill, It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your feedback. We do offer a Free breakfast to all our guests, The express breakfast is a continental breakfast with hot options. I am sorry that you did not enjoy this. The breakfast does normally receive positive feedback, the team should regularly supply fresh croissants throughout the breakfast period, I will ensure that this happens in future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have to say - I wasn't expecting much from a Holiday Inn Express. I'd stayed in Holiday Inns before and other IHG properties but this was my first Express outing, and I was fully expecting corners to be cut here, there and everywhere. On the contrary it exceeded my expectations. Reception staff were warm and friendly, especially the bespectacled young lady who checked me in. As a Plainum Elite I was given a voucher good for one drink at the bar and a pick of a snack out of a basket (I went for the KP Roasted Peanuts if you're taking notes). Internet was free here and they had the rugby on the telly - what more could you ask for? I avoided the breakfast scrum (it's free) by going early, and it was a decent selection that was more than adequate. Rooms were clean, adequate size for a night stopover. And all for £40 too. Very impressed!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank octagonally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Octagonally, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your comments. The team work very hard and take great pride in their role; they will be delighted to hear your comments. I do hope you will visit the hotel again in the near future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley. Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed at the hotel for one night recently. Pleased with the stay. Check in was quick. The room was small but clean and the bed was very comfy. The breakfast was basic but was fine. Free wifi is a bonus but the free wifi is quite slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxx0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Maxx0, Thank you for your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay also I am pleased that you were happy with the Free Wi-Fi, if you do need a faster speed you can upgrade to the for £5 for 24 hours. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a good value for money hotel. The breakfast is a basic selection of hot and cold foods but adequate enough to start the day on. The bar area is a downside and not tempting enough to use, particularily when there is a great pub/restaurant with a great atmosphere literaly attached to the car park. The hotel staff were all very courteous and helpful, the room was a good size, comfortable, and very clean. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the rear car park side facing the pub which are quiet with no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Nigel, Thank you for your recent review, I am glad that you enjoyed our free breakfast. The team take great pride in their role and will be pleased to hear your comments, I do hope you will stay again in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for one night in October 2013. The room was clean and functional, but without any frills. No evening meals available, except pizza in a box. There is a fairly crowded eating house called the Foxes Den opposite, serving standard bar meals. In the hotel, there is a bar area on the ground floor which seemed very deserted. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but not as good as some of the competitor chains. The staff were pleasant ad helpful, and breakfast was better than expected, with limited choice of hot food as well as continental stuff. This budget hotel is adequate for an overnight business trip, but lacks some of the comforts for a leisure stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0amingNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Nick, Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The team take great pride in their role, and will be pleased to hear your comments. I do hope you visit the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
3.6 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
4.1 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#14 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Address: New Road | Bristol Parkway Business Park, Bristol BS34 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North hotel if you're looking for a good value hotel close to Bristol city centre. Our modern red-brick hotel boasts fresh contemporary interiors and is conveniently located within Bristol Parkway Business Park, 5 miles from Bristol's lively city centre and 15 miles from Bristol Airport. Getting around is a breeze - Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North is just a short drive from the nearby M4 and M5 motorways, and less than a mile from Bristol Parkway train station. The 2 modern meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North can accommodate up to 34 people and there's plenty of complimentary onsite parking for your delegates. You can log on to free Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel. It's just 5 miles to Bristol city centre for vibrant nightlife, cosmopolitan shopping and eclectic dining. Cabot Circus shopping mall is home to numerous boutiques and cafes, as well as a 13-screen cinema showing the latest blockbuster movies. Head for Bristol's Quayside area to find bustling restaurants and trendy bars. Wake up to our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and choose from a tasty selection of both hot and continental items. You can prepare for your meeting over coffee in the peaceful lounge area or meet and mingle with colleagues over evening drinks before heading to your air conditioned guestroom. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing