We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This IHG hotel is basic. Fortunately there is more than one restaurant nearby now. Three things I have to comment on. Poor breakfast - scrambled egg over cooked & cold beans. The shower has insufficient water pressure and inconsistent temperature and the air conditioning in the room can't be altered, if you set it higher it keeps defaulting back to 21 and when you turn it off it pops back on again! Apart from that staff are very polite and helpful. Wi-fi is free throughout the hotel in rooms too. It's a good location for my line if work. This is the only reason I book it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Donnaa5dcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay - I am sorry that you had some issues with our breakfast; this is not our usual standard. Our water pressure in the bedrooms is usually very good, so I am sorry that there was an issue with your shower, if this happens again please call our team at reception and they will be able to help. The air conditioning should be controlled in the bedroom, if you leave your key inside the slot for the electric, this will ensure that you keep control of your air conditioning. I do hope you will visit our hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

The location of the hotel was very good, near both the motorway and the city centre. Hotel itself was basic, but better then most of the Premier Inns, you felt like you were actually staying in a hotel. The room was nice and comfortable, but the air conditioning was a bit noisy as it kept on coming on and off during the night to maintain the constant room temperature. Had it been on all the time thoughout the night then we wouldn't have noticed any noise. The free wifi signal was very poor no way anybody would pay for it.

Breakfast had a good selection, but the hot buffet was rather disappointing. Sausages and scramble egg tasted very mushy. Croisants were very nice though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pchipstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am sorry that the air conditioning was noisy in the night - if you leave your key in the slot and turn it off, it should stay off then until you turn it on again. We do offer a free continental breakfast with hot options which at the moment are sausages, scrambled eggs and beans. Our Wi-Fi signal is usually quite good throughout the hotel; please contact our team at reception if this happens again in the future, we are always happy to help. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Older Holiday Inn, nice reception and efficient check in. Rooms look recently upgraded from original Holiday Inn Express, to the current room, and I must admit the painting out of the original blue wood and new décor is very sympathetic to current design of rooms.

Only criticism is I thought it was really overpriced. Right next door to a Sainsbury's, so easy to get some food and a bottle of wine!

I really hate being disturbed by the maid the next morning though, surely there should be some system to know when guests have left!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by the housekeeping team in the morning, I will ensure that this is not repeated. I am pleased to hear you like our new refurbished rooms. We are happy with the new colour scheme in the rooms. It's always best to check on our website for the best advance saver rates if it possible to book in advance. Thank you for your review and I do hope you stay again in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We are staying here for the weekend whilst visiting our daughter in Bristol and have been more than satisfied with the hotel. The cost for the weekend was extremely good, and we thought we had just paid for the room, so were delighted to discover that the price included free breakfast and Wifi......so many hotels these days charge extra for everything, that this was such an unexpected bonus.

The standard of the rooms is really good with a really comfortable bed and sofa. It is very clean and well maintained and the staff are very helpful. We would not stay anywhere else in Bristol in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PraguefanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear guest. Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear you had a great stay. I am please you enjoyed our free breakfast and Wi-Fi that we offer. I am sure the team will be very pleased to hear your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after the six nations match. Great little hotel with good access from the motorway and was very good value. The sofa bed was a little uncomfortable but not bad. Would stay again if need a stopover whilst traveling as is accessible to both the m5 and m4.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Steve, Thank you for your recent review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you found the sofa bed uncomfortable - next time you stay, if you request a twin room, you will have 2 single beds in the room. You may find it more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley- Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Was there just for the weekend and it was a very nice hotel, good breakfast and even had a little section where you can get ice cubes and pay for sandwiches and pies and stuff. A good location as there was a sainsburys and ASDA no more than 5 minutes away and also a Nando's if you were wanting to eat out. Price was a bit over what we had wanted but was well worth it in the end. Definitely would come here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria_H14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Victoria, Thank you for your recent positive review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please check on our website for the best rates especially if you book in advance on the 'advance saver rate' for the best deals. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The staff at the hotel were extremely welcoming and very helpful and attentive at all times.
We have stayed at Hiltons previously but have not always had such welcoming service.

We had a problem with the heating in the room. The young man who came to see the problem, I think was called either Adam or James swiftly moved us to another room nearby and apologised it was slightly smaller. Both rooms were clean and we liked having the large sofa to sit on instead of just a chair in the room. The desk staff (CJ and Magda) were very friendly and attentive and cleared tables quickly and efficiently and could not have been more attentive. If only all hotel staff were so well trained.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and very quiet at all times. Excellent car parking with plenty of roo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear RobinHill, Thank you for your comments from your recent stay, The team here work extremely hard to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and they will be very happy to hear your comments. I do hope you will visit the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
3.6 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
4.1 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#14 of 39 in Bristol
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
3.8 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North

Address: New Road | Bristol Parkway Business Park, Bristol BS34 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £65 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North hotel if you're looking for a good value hotel close to Bristol city centre. Our modern red-brick hotel boasts fresh contemporary interiors and is conveniently located within Bristol Parkway Business Park, 5 miles from Bristol's lively city centre and 15 miles from Bristol Airport. Getting around is a breeze - Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North is just a short drive from the nearby M4 and M5 motorways, and less than a mile from Bristol Parkway train station. It's just 5 miles to Bristol city centre for vibrant nightlife, cosmopolitan shopping and eclectic dining. Cabot Circus shopping mall is home to numerous boutiques and cafes, as well as a 13-screen cinema showing the latest blockbuster movies. Head for Bristol's Quayside area to find bustling restaurants and trendy bars. Wake up to our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and choose from a tasty selection of both hot and continental items. You can prepare for your meeting over coffee in the peaceful lounge area or meet and mingle with colleagues over evening drinks before heading to your air conditioned guestroom. Wi-Fi is free and is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing