We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodge at Bristol(Almondsbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveller rating
275
330
145
31
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
330
145
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfox denabbey woodretail parkpub next doorbeanshi expresspub restaurantcar parkthe sofa bednice pubring roadfree breakfastcribbs causewaydecent breakfastair conself servicebudget hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 792 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel does not serve dinner in the evening but there is a pub / restaurant onsite and we found the meal there to be excellent and good value. Frankies and Bennies nearby offer a 15% discount if you show your hotel keycard. The breakfast at the hotel is buffet style with the usual hot offering of sausage, beans and scrambled egg and continental fruit, yogurt, cheese, croissants and cereals. As in all these type of hotels the toaster never toasts enough the first time through, then burns it if you put it through again. The layout of the breakfast food does not logically flow and guests were constantly crossing the room from one side to the other.
The up side was the bed was comfortable, the room quiet and a good nights sleep had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashaSenior, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback. We have recently had some changes to the layout of the breakfast area which we review regularly, taking guest feedback into consideration, to ensure that breakfast runs smoothly.
I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Kind Regards, Natasha Senior - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Everything you could need for a one night stay at a great price. Staff very friendly and service was great. We were visiting family so location was ok for us between airport and them, very clean and nice breakfast too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Dave, Thank you for your recent review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We needed somewhere to stay overnight before I had surgery at Bristol Spire hospital. This hotel did the job. We weren't looking for any frills just a clean, comfortable room.

First off we did have some trouble finding the place and particularly how to get to the entrance but when we did arrive our check in was fast and efficient. Our room was basic - I wouldn't want to spend to much time here, a typical "chain" where everything looks the same but if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep its fine. Although we were at the front of the hotel we didn't experience any traffic noise.

Good value for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxGlitterxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback, I am pleased you were comfortable in the hotel; I am pleased that you felt you had value for money in the hotel and I do hope you visit the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had stayed at this hotel before for a short break, this time it was for business, I stayed one night missed a night then 16 nights.
The rooms have been refurbished since my last stay and the colours are a lot better, that horrible blue has gone, the colours now are alot nicer. The room was comfortable and well kept,
This is a busy hotel but the noise levels were no problem and I was always able to get car parking.
The only real complaint is that there are no trays now at breakfast and you have to do several trips back and forth to get everything you want, I'm not a mornings person I just want to get what I need and get to work. Dont really know why they are doing this proberly to get people to eat less by not wanting to go up so often. Also when there was a a tray clearing point more people cleared their tables after they had finished, even though there is a clearing point most people, myself included, are not bothering meaning more work for the staff.
I mentioned this when I checked out and, I think it was Jamie behind the desk, said that I could ask for a tray if I needed one, my reply was how was i meant to know that, he said I have just told you. I was checking out! figure that one.
Bristol is an expensive city to stay in this hotel was a similar price to Premier inns in the area but better and the carparking is included in the price and staff friendly.
If you stay try a meal in The Fox Den in the car park excellent food!

Room Tip: Only one lift, if you have problems ask for a ground floor room
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siemenstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review. We always welcome our guest feedback, as a way to improve our service. We have removed our trays as a way to communicate with guests more during their stay. They are available on request, however I understand your frustration of how you were informed of this and please be assured this is not our usual level of service. If you would like to discuss this further please contact the hotel on info@expressbristol.co.uk. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards Angela, Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We needed a pet friendly hotel in North Bristol & we found this one through Expedia.

We found the staff from check in to check out were all friendly & helpful!!

Our room was clean tidy & very well presented!

Breakfast was a continental style breakfast - cereals, hot food, fruit & yoghurt.... Plenty for all the guests & plenty to choose from.

We would definitely return to this hotel if we are ever in the North Bristol area again.

**for all dog owners ... more a FYI there is a "dog supplement" (£25) so just be prepared for it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VWilkins146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. It's great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and also that you found the team friendly and helpful; they will be delighted to hear your comments. The hotel does have the set dog fee of £20.00 per night; this is to ensure the room is thoroughly cleaned. I do hope you visit the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews