We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laundry should not be delivered at 5.00am”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2010

My first and probably last stay at a Holiday Inn Express. I was quite impressed with the hotel, room decor and furnishings, and everything was very clean and pristine in condition. But I'm afraid the delivery of laundry at 5.00am, directly underneath my bedroom window, shattered any good impression formed until that point. Not content with the contractor delivering trolleys heaving with linen at a wholly inappropriate time, the receptionist seemingly did nothing (when I had complained) about trying to stop the delivery driver from wheeling the trolleys across the car park area, making a considerable amount of noise. £140 a night was a significant outlay on my part, and for it I got a disturbed night's sleep. At checkout I demanded a reduction on my account. I accepted, reluctantly, a £30 discount but regarded it more as an insult than a recognition that the hotel was at fault. Premier Inn have a no quibble money back guarantee, but Holiday Inn Express does not. I certainly wouldn't stay there again without some form of guarantee that they've sorted out their laundry contractor deliveries plus a quibble-free money back guarantee just in case.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x333xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2010

Use these Holiday Inn Expresses occasionally. This one is situated about 5 mins drive from M4/M32. Not a place I would stay to visit Bristol, must be 5 miles out from the centre. Positioned right next to 'Fox Den' pub/restaurant. It was Badminton weekend (about 15mins drive) and was very busy and probably full. Reception was ok, rooms were ok, about what you should expect. The Pub/Restaurant was crammed with 60 min wait for tables. You have to order your food at the bar, not like we did wait to be served and wait and wait, you see no-one told us and when they did, they were quite blunt and rude! Food was delivered quicker than we thought taking into account how busy they were and was of reasonable quality. Breakfast at the hotel was limited and service not so good. Staff could not understand what we were asking for (orange juice machine was not working), bread products didn't seem particularly fresh and the cereals were of a cheap variety and not particularly eatable. As far as the Hotel is concerned the breakfast let it down really. I know they say it's complimentary, but its included in the price therefore you must pay for it! Would I stay here again.....yes, price alone makes it worthwhile so long as it was close to where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracyslocombe, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for our hotel. We always welcome feedback as this helps assist us in delivering the best possible service. Badminton weekend was an exceptionally busy weekend for us where we experienced a high volume of guests arriving for breakfast at the same time. The Fox Den restaurant next door is not connected with our hotel, but I will pass your comments on to them for them to review with their team. I am very glad to hear that you would return to stay with us in the future.
Thank you for your valuable feedback which I will review with the team
Kind Regards

Tracy Slocombe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

The hotel has updated the front entrance yet the rooms are tired. The hotel has aircon in the rooms but there is little point as the range of temp is short, the signs say between 18 and 26 but in practice its between 19 and 22. The card on the TV explains the channels including Sky 1, yet the TV doesn't get this channel it has Sky 3 instead. The bathroom I had the shower had seen better days the fixtures were broken. The hotel has moved away from branded toiletries to some foul smelling gunk I assume its cheaper than dove or lux. Thankfully there is a Sainsbury just across the road to get the stuff you have forgotten. Both plastic cups in the bathroom had cracks in, even the toilet paper is thin and rough.
The quilt and sheets barely covered the surface of the bed. The only plus point is the hotel uses cloud / 02 wifi.
I seldom eat at this hotel as the Sainsbury already mentioned provides a much better breakfast at a reasonable price. At night unfortunately apart from a random pub in the hotels car park and a holiday Inn nearby there is nowhere else to eat, the hotel is very much on a trading estate area between two very large government buildings. One of which I frequent.
If you get a cheaper rate great but you don't get any of the priority club perks. The last time I stayed they referred to my platinum priority card as a silver one and it would not be long until I got a gold one.
After querying why no points given on this trip with customer service I was told this hotel is franchised and they only give points if you pay the full rack rate.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bootedsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracyslocombe, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Thank you for your comments.
Each of our guestrooms are fitted with an independently controlled heating and cooling system that enables guests to set the desired temperature to suit individual needs. I will investigate your comments on the bathroom as all of our rooms are maintained to very high standards ensuring our guests a comfortable and pleasant stay. We have recently made improvements to our complimentary breakfast and I hope that you will be able to take advantage of this if you stay with us again. While we do not serve evening meals we are happy to provide takeaway menus for local restaurants who will deliver to the hotel or alternatively just a short drive away you will find a selection of bars and restaurants. Thank you for your valued feedback which I will review with the team. We look forward to you returning in the future so we can demonstrate to you that we are committed to delivering high standards of service to our guests.

Kind Regards

Tracy Slocombe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

As one of the organizers of a group of 40 people attending Badminton 3 day event last week, I was delighted with how efficient and helpful the staff of the Holiday Inn Express, Bristol North were. The hot buffet breakfast was a welcoming surprise. Check in was great as we had given an ETA and had two reception staff to greet us. This is our sixth year staying here for badminton week and we will be definitely coming back next year. On the Sunday night we arrived back from Badminton covered in mud and we all had a drink at the bar. The place must have been a mess, but the barman was very courteous and didn't say a word to us. The food in the restaurant next door was as good as ever. Many thanks for a great weekend, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sangarthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracyslocombe, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

We are delighted to hear that you have once again enjoyed your stay with us. We have an excellent team that are always on hand to welcome our guests individually or in your case a large group with the greatest of ease and satisfaction.
We are delighted that you all had a great weekend and will be returning again next year.
Thank you for your valued time in sharing your comments with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind Regards

Tracy Slocombe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We have stayed here once a year for the last 6 years. It has always been the cleanest hotel we have used. All the necessary extras. If you keep an eye on the prices you can get a room for £49. Lovely large beds and quality linen.Large choice at breakfast. Many of my friends agree with us and also use it regularly. We would recommend this one unreservedly!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracyslocombe, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2010

We are delighted to hear that you have once again enjoyed your stay here with us. It fills us with pride that you found our hotel to be the cleanest hotel that you have stayed in and that we provided all the necessary extra’s that you required.

Thank you for your time in providing us with your valued comments and feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tracy Slocombe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

What's new to say about Holiday Inn Express. This is a very reliable brand that I have used a lot in the US and Bristol North is a pretty fair example. Compared with US equivalents, the rooms tend to be rather smaller with double or queen rather than king beds. Travelling alone this is acceptable but I would feel cramped if I were sharing. However, the rooms were clean and well-maintained, although I found it hard to get the temperature low enough for sleeping - the thermostats wont' go below 19C and I like a cooler room. As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is surrounded by busy roads so opening windows isn't really an option. The breakfast compared well with others - I am trying to cut back so I skipped the hot items but they looked OK to me. Front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. My one real gripe is being charged extra for internet access, which is a standard rip-off for UK hotels. I have never been charged for this in a US Holiday Inn Express, where it is accepted that internet access is an essential tool for everyone, not just business travellers. Other UK budget chains are gradually accepting this and I think Holiday Inn Express should not be left behind. I had business at the nearby university but the location is pretty gruesome unless you have to be at one of the business parks - it's convenient for Parkway station and the motorway but not much else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracyslocombe, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2010

Iam delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have recently introduced a few changes, one being the introduction of hot options with the continental breakfast which have been very popular.
We take pride in the level of customer service our staff provides to our valued guests in ensuring them a comfortable and happy stay.
Due to the valued feedback we receive from our guests we will be introducing free limited internet access to our guests in the Great Room area by the end of this year.
We are conveniently located to some wonderful attractions which I hope one day you will return to enjoy.
Thank you for your comments and feedback, we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Tracy Slocombe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

I cant really judge the location as I took this hotel due to short distance to our office, but everything else was simply wrong. Room - small, old equipment, cold as held, 1st floor with view to cars parking next to my windows. Breakfast - coffy only from poor machine, almost nothing to choose from - nightmare. For almost 100pounds terrible value for money. Internet access has to paid additionaly. Possible advantage is close Sainsbury supermarket where you buy something for the breakfast :-).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svestka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracyslocombe, Deputy General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2010

I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us, and i appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your concerns.
Each of our guestrooms are fitted with an independently controlled heating and cooling system and we will monitor in light of your comments to ensure that systems are operating effectively.
We have recently introduced a new and improved breakfast which is complimentary to all room rates. Our new buffet includes our usual continental style selection and hot scrambled egg and sausage.
Thank you for your comments which i will review with my team. I hope that you will return in the future so that we can demonstrate that we are committed to delivering high standards of service to our guests.

Kind Regards

Tracy Slocombe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
3.6 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
4.1 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#14 of 39 in Bristol
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
3.8 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol - Filton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North

Address: New Road | Bristol Parkway Business Park, Bristol BS34 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: £65 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North hotel if you're looking for a good value hotel close to Bristol city centre. Our modern red-brick hotel boasts fresh contemporary interiors and is conveniently located within Bristol Parkway Business Park, 5 miles from Bristol's lively city centre and 15 miles from Bristol Airport. Getting around is a breeze - Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North is just a short drive from the nearby M4 and M5 motorways, and less than a mile from Bristol Parkway train station. It's just 5 miles to Bristol city centre for vibrant nightlife, cosmopolitan shopping and eclectic dining. Cabot Circus shopping mall is home to numerous boutiques and cafes, as well as a 13-screen cinema showing the latest blockbuster movies. Head for Bristol's Quayside area to find bustling restaurants and trendy bars. Wake up to our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and choose from a tasty selection of both hot and continental items. You can prepare for your meeting over coffee in the peaceful lounge area or meet and mingle with colleagues over evening drinks before heading to your air conditioned guestroom. Wi-Fi is free and is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing