We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pizza but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beerd Craft Beers and Pizza

Beerd Craft Beers and Pizza
Ranked #457 of 1,552 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Pizza but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Beerd is a nice place, quite big , where to eat a good pizza (the Margherita is really close to the Italian pizza in term of taste) and good beers, not too many but quite good.
It's fine for groups or couples, the price is absolutely fine.
Just 2 things should be better: the dessert and the volume of the music.
The desserts are nothing of especial and few (2 or 3): sometimes too sweet, sometimes not properly presented...ok it is clear by the name that in this place you'll find mainly beers and pizza, but what women usually look after a pizza is the sweet ...and this is clearly a weakness of this place;

they offers you society play like Scarabeo or trivial and that's nice: to play all together after the dinner , drinking a beer is very nice and it is a good way for having good time with friends but...but the volume of the music sometimes is too high!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michy981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeerdManager, General Manager at Beerd Craft Beers and Pizza, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed the pizza on your visit to Beerd. We like to think they're pretty special. As you have deduced we mainly offer beer and pizza. The cakes we offer are primarily to accompany our excellent coffees. That said Judes artisan ice cream from Hampshire, will soon be seen at Beerd, as the perfect dessert to complement our pizza.
Beerd operates as a bar rather than a restaurant and so the music is usually at a volume to reflect this given the time of day. If you feel the music is too loud, please let us know and we'll be more than happy to adjust it, if deemed appropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    40
    17
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Happy customer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I was pleased to read that my previous review was read by Beerd, and have since been back and there was definite improvement on the beer front with a larger range of bottled beers, and better cask/keg beers - although I still think that they could have some more unusual beers on keg/cask but maybe they dont because craft beer is just begining to be better represented in the west country and the locals need more persuading!
Had pizza and it was delicious, the pizzas there are great - huge, nice thin crsipy base and great toppings and a proper knife to cut the pizza with!Also made use of the offer of NHS staff discount, which can only be a positive!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sun_city_girl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeerdManager, General Manager at Beerd Craft Beers and Pizza, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
I'm happy to hear that your return visit was a much better experience. We have increased our range of beers and will continue to do so. Watch out for some interesting new adittions over the coming months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I have been here with family and friends, and never once heard a complaint. The pizzas they do are well priced and filling. There isnt much selection, but there will be something on the menu for everyone.
It can get very busy though, which slows down service, especially on a Monday which is 241 pizzas, but it is well worth the wait!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenSuSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeerdManager, General Manager at Beerd Craft Beers and Pizza, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Many thanks for the kind words, it's always great to get some positive feedback for all the hard work put in by the team here at BEERD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value lunch, but can be busy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I've been here several times to take advantage of their lunch time deals with friends, and the quality that goes on the pizza is fantastic. I've regularly gone for the lunch deal with an extra topping, but that's just because I prefer to be able to add chili to my meal!

It seems to be a favourite haunt for new mothers and postnatal groups. This isn't a problem at all, but does mean that sometimes it can be VERY busy for lunch, so I would always suggesting going outside of the "conventional" times, especially when the weather is good! When it is busy it is, unfortunately, a slower service. It's not unacceptable but for lunches you may want to make sure you have the full lunch hour and not try to squeeze this one in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank niaccurshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeerdManager, General Manager at Beerd Craft Beers and Pizza, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
I'm glad that you enjoy our lunchtime deal. It's a good tip to come outside the regular lunch hours as we serve the luch deal till 4pm.We always endeavour to deliver food to the table within 15 minutes and I'm sorry if you've experienced any wait when we're busy.
If you like chilli on your pizza, you may like to try one washed down with a glass of our chilli porter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great beer, god value food, excellent staff, but COLD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Went here for lunch - and greatly enjoyed it.
Excellent range of cask & keg beers with the Dark Side Stout the pick of my day.
The £4.95 m
ake-your-own pizza is a great offer - my ladyfriend had an extra topping (80p) but made her dream pizza of aubergine, artichoke & olives. (I had the more boring chorizo & peppers though I wolfed it quick).
Staff are friendly & helpful, even recommending other local pubs to try.
Only problem is that it is damn cold. You shouldn't be sat in your coats in a pub.
They have some heaters in the ceiling, but HEAT RISES. And the door was open the entire time, even as the snow fell outside.
I would go again a shot, mind.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ant_jone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeerdManager, General Manager at Beerd Craft Beers and Pizza, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thanks for the kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and our hospitality. We're always happy to close the doors if you find it too cold. Please just ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beerd Craft Beers and Pizza also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Beerd Craft Beers and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing