We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dinner with friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Basil - CLOSED

Thai Basil
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Paderborn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice dinner with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Most of us had a Curry which was really good! The starter was even a bit large.
Very tasty and not too spicy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkusB132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    2
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“variable quality and flavour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We have had a few pretty good takeaways from this restaurant, the ribs were very good, and a couple of main courses have been very good. The chicken satay had weak mustard on it and no peanut sauce in sight.
However, lately it has been more hit than miss, with some pork which tasted a bit peculiar (so we didn't eat it) and was very fatty, and the last event was a sweet and sour chicken which was inedible for our tastes. The chicken tasted as if it had been soaked for days in vinegar and had a strange texture. Sadly this has caused the balance between acceptable and not acceptable to become too negative and we will be avoiding this takeaway in the future, after giving them a few chances for improvement in the hope that it would be as good as in the past.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrA922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasteless Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Ate here 22 Feb-chicken sate deep fried served with tasteless peanut sauce. Tom Kha Gai had no flavour other than stale coconut and chilli oil -ob wun sen -pot roast noodles and veg was wok fried and had minimal veg -the food here bore no resemblance to Thai food and was generally tasteless-there are far better Thai restaurants in Bristol and also much cheaper---avoid.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sisaket62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
818 reviews
507 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Excellent take-away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

I generally feel that if you review a restaurant on its take-away you might be doing it a dis-service as being put in a plastic container is never going to add to the quality, I decided to write this because it was so good! This was the first time we'd ordered from the Thai Basil and we did so from their website and had it delivered. The menu is good and the options include oft-seen Thai options as well as some adapted Chinese meals.

My chicken Satay was good, although a little salty on the night, when I had it warmed up for lunch a few days later it was fine. My partners Spare ribs were lovely. We had Sweet and sour chicken, beef with lemongrass and Pad Thai, all were excellent and unlike the usual Oriental Take-away, they weren't very greasy or oily and I felt that I had eaten relatively healthily. The flavours were delicate, which is what I expect from Thai food and it was all very enjoyable.

I look forward to going to eat at the restaurant in the new year...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing