We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue and great time”
Review of Bristol Hippodrome

Bristol Hippodrome
Ranked #22 of 206 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,077 reviews
585 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Great venue and great time”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Really good venue for Rock of Ages. Sound quality was good and we were sta at the front in the middle in the Grand Circle which were brilliant seats. There was a good singer in the bar to warm everybody up as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    239
    92
    50
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great time out”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Bristol hippodrome ,nice that we can still go to a show on the stage , great place to go for all the family , can pre order drinks so when you go out after the first half your drink is waiting for you , each show you watch you can buy programmes and t shirts badges lot of different gifts sweets and ice cream for the children, all nice and clean afternoon shows as well local pubs and plenty of coffee shops and eatteries near by and local hotels to stay, five minutes down the road shop in the town centre

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Bijou Theatre”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We visited to see the Rod Stewart themed 'Rock of Ages' musical which was well presented and enjoyable. The Hippodrome staff were friendly and helpful, We sat in stalls 'L' which gave us a great view fairly close to the front and nicely paid for by Tesco Clubcard.

I'm of average height, but these seats had too little leg room even for me, giving me aching legs and deeply grateful for the intermission. During the intermission I bought a little pot of Losely ice-cream which tasted great, but at £4 was daylight robbery!

None-the-less it was a good evening out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Back Stage Tour”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

On Saturday 7th June I went on the back stage tour. It was amazing so interesting and learnt so much about this amazing theatre . Our guide was so good (sorry cant remember his name) and we went everywhere from the dressing rooms to the boxes to the orchestra pit to the very top in the fly tower so interesting. The highlight was standing on the stage. The history was very interesting because this lovely building has been a favorite of mine since I was a small child, I do not live in Bristol anymore so its been many years since I have been inside it. I could not get over how much it has changed the place needs someone to love it and take care of it and spend some money on it restoring it. Such a shame that lots of original features have gone i.e. the doors in the lobby and the chandelier that is now in Birmingham. Anyway go on this tour its just fab and well worth the money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MelNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“buddy”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

what a brilliant show, very talented cast, great music. the hippodrome is a lovely building. close car parking. tip pre pay parking when you arrive as it saves waiting after. great pub next door to hippodrome for a drink and meal before show.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ally2666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bristol Hippodrome also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Hippodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing