We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing brunch”
Review of Workhouse Cafe

Workhouse Cafe
Ranked #389 of 1,615 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“amazing brunch”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had two of the seasonal specials: I had the smoked haddock fish cakes with poached egg and hollandaise, and my girlfriend had the baked egg on Hart's sourdough with fried vegetables (red onions, peppers, and squash). The latter was supposed to come with salami, but we substituted vegetarian sausages. It was all really fantastic. These are the best fishcakes I've ever had: the texture was wonderful, with small chunks of potato and other ingredients, especially including large pieces of smoked haddock -- not puréed to mush like in many cases! The skin was also delightful, really thick and almost crunch, not thin and greasy, again like most fish cakes. The poached egg was perfect and they didn't drown it in hollandaise: just enough. Served with a really big piece of lemon for seasoning, although I should mention the internal seasoning in the fish cake was also unusually good. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poliorketes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Relaxed atmosphere, varied menu and delicious food :-)”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited Workhouse Cafe at 'brunch time' on a Sunday. We arrived before the café had officially opened but were happy to sit and select our food in the relaxed atmosphere. We would thoroughly recommend the veggie breakfast which is a very good value meal, beautifully presented and cooked to perfection! Slices of granary toast, home made baked beans, 2 runny poached eggs and veggie sausages were washed down with a coffee! Yummy! Go and visit this fab independent café!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good we came back again and again”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

In Bristol only 4 days, we stumbled on the Workhouse Café by accident-- and were so impressed by our lunch, we sought it out twice more (once for brunch, once for mid-afternoon tea)!

The fare is simple, homemade, wholesome, and ever so tasty-- definitely better than meals in most fancy, expensive restaurants. I'm not usually one to share my food-- but we couldn't help passing our plates (and glasses)! We had DEElicious fresh juices (my favourite was the carrot-apple-ginger), and over our three visits had a range of dishes, but our favourites were the homemade soups, breads, and cakes. It is a small café, however, with only a few tables-- we were lucky each time to arrive before or after the big 'rush hour' times.

I will certainly eat the Workhouse Café again next time I'm in Bristol!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good venue but pricey for standard veggie breakfast”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Located on a busy junction the Workhouse Cafe is not the quietest place to relax for a coffee or snack - however it does attract a diverse clientele who are happy to ignore the traffic and noise from the occasional ambulance siren. The attraction is a rustic look with seasonal veg in the window and a good display of healthy homemade food items displayed in the counter area. I wanted to try out the veggie breakfast. It was a no fuss, standard breakfast, but I felt I had tasted better for less than the £6.50 price tag - which incidently is the same price for a full 'meaty' breakfast. Perhpas next time I should turn up for lunch. Overall, sound service, bit of a buzz venue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good food, tea and lovely staff!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The food here's great and the staff really friendly. They do a good selection of teas and cakes. Lunchtime can be busy and not always easy to get a table straight away but worth waiting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Workhouse Cafe also viewed

Bristol, England
 

Been to Workhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing