We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smoke & Mirrors

Smoke & Mirrors
Ranked #1 of 24 Concerts & Shows in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Smoke & Mirrors theatre pub, home to The House Magicians comedy magic show, is open 6 days a week. We offer a 10% discount to all pre-theatre goers and our warm and welcoming bar staff will provide you with the very best in fine wines, real ales and award winning bar food. Smoke & Mirrors offers you a chance to experience the number one comedy magic show in the South West with our resident performers The House Magicians. Two great comedy magicians will make you gasp and laugh, and will entertain you for 2 hours - book via our own box office today. Get rid of those Monday blues and get your week off to a great start with our stand-up comedy night. Unlike other comedy nights, this night is aimed at trying out new material - did you know that the likes of Alan Carr, Jon Richardson, Russell Howard and Seann Walsh have all tried out new material exclusively here? book via our box office today. Live and local, as well as free to watch and enjoy - what could be better than that? Smoke & Mirrors hosts great musicians every Friday and Saturday. To keep up to date with who's playing, why not subscribe to our newsletter and once a month we will let you know who we have on! Smoke & Mirrors bar is open to the public six days a week from 4pm, and when the theatre is not in use it's the perfect venue for corporate or private events in a unique, inspirational location. Our magic master classes are the perfect gift for any child or adult. The House Magicians provide a great starter class for any budding magician. Child master classes run through school holidays and adult classes run can booked by purchasing a gift voucher.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

A brilliant evening, different and loads of fun. Loved the size of the venue and the audience participation. Wish I lived closer!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    65
    8
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston-s-Mare
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Second and final visit! ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Such a great unique venue it really should be a fab way to spend an evening. Unfortunately it is run by an unpleasant man with an attitude problem who has absolutely no idea of customer service. Due to an accident on the motorway we were late to the show so we phoned ahead to let them know and waited happily in the bar until the interval. When we did go to find our seats it appeared he must have sold them again as there was no where to put us. We ended up on stools, one in front of each other in what seemed to be the aisle. It's a small theatre but I think we'd have struggled to get out of there'd been a fire! And speaking of fire - no air con! It was absolutely boiling, no offer of water or anything for people so we were left fanning ourselves with menus. Didn't think much of our first visit, this will certainly be our last!

Helpful?
1 Thank travellingchick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

It's difficult to explain how fantastic this place is, the magic show just blows me away everytime, i've visited on more than one occasion and i will be returning on many more occasions i'm sure...go check it out for yourself, you won't be dissapointed!!

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank BRFC1883GAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magic Evening! Will go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Had an absolutely brilliant time with some friends. Got a voucher deal so the evening was excellent value for money. The stylish little bar provides the perfect intimate setting for some quality entertainment. The performance was excellent and the guys on stage were very talented and humorous. We will definitely be returning

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique and charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This small theatre located at the back of a quaint pub which serves a good selection of beers and wines etc. holds only about 50 people. The owner indulges his love of magic by acting as an excellent compere to the show. We saw 2 acts. The first was a little strange and didn't quite hit the comedy mark it was aiming for but the main act ' The Wizards of Odd' were hilarious. Entrance prices are reasonable and table magic is performed in the bar before the show. This is one of those places that you remember because it is unique.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EivissaSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smoke & Mirrors also viewed

 

Been to Smoke & Mirrors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing