We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Matt "The Beard" and Tim "The Mindreader"”
Review of Smoke & Mirrors

Smoke & Mirrors
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.52*
and up
House Magicians' Comedy Magic Show at Smoke...
Ranked #2 of 165 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Smoke & Mirrors theatre pub, home to The House Magicians Comedy & Magic Show, and is open 7 days a week. We offer a 10% discount to all pre-theatre goers and our warm and welcoming bar staff will provide you with the very best in fine wines, so why not grab a Pizza and watch a show? Our Pub is the best way to experience a night of entertainment wether you are attending one of our shows or one of the many theatres nearby we are the go to pub for great drink & food before any show in Bristol. Being located right next to the Stage Door of the Hippodrome you can be sure that the cast and crew might be having a relaxing drink while our entertainers entertain them for a change from our Close-Up Magician performing right at your table or our House Musicians singing all the classics every weekend, you'll know that Smoke & Mirrors is the best hidden Gem in Bristol and of course we always have local ales always on tap!
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Visiting Bristol for the weekend, booked at "Smoke and Mirrors" and saw Matt and TIm perform.

Small theater with about 50 people, so everyone engaged and involved with the magic/card tricks, "Fate and Destiny" analysis and "Mind Reader" performances.
Bar staff friendly, reasonable prices, easy to find as in the street next to the Hippodrome.

Will certainly book again when next in Bristol.
Thanks for a great evening.

Date of experience: March 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Oakeyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"magic show"
in 86 reviews
"house magicians"
in 53 reviews
"great night"
in 114 reviews
"card tricks"
in 49 reviews
"audience participation"
in 47 reviews
"intimate venue"
in 27 reviews
"small theatre"
in 16 reviews
"great tricks"
in 8 reviews
"entertaining evening"
in 9 reviews
"second act"
in 9 reviews
"the pub"
in 33 reviews
"booked tickets"
in 9 reviews
"bar area"
in 14 reviews
"second half"
in 8 reviews
"bar staff"
in 14 reviews
"two hours"
in 11 reviews
"visiting bristol"
in 10 reviews
Filter

591 - 595 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

Took my husband for his birthday as he loves magic and we were not disappointed!

Show takes place in an intimate room at the back of the pub, has a really exciting feel to it. Also has magical themed cocktails on offer - I had a Debbie McGee! Very tasty.

Would definitely recommend, great for magic lovers and sceptics alike.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank hannah772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

I've visited Smoke and Mirrors numerous times since it first opened and have seen shows by Morgan and West, Wayne Goodman, Luke Jermay and Jon Armstrong as well as many shows by the House Magicians. Every show has been fantastic and very reasonably priced tickets means this is always top of the list of places to take friends and family when visiting Bristol. Fantastic magic, a good range of drinks, and the sausage rolls are pretty good too. 10/10.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank 700blp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

My wife and I visited Bristol for 2 nights mid Feb and looked for something to do on a Monday night!! We found an "open mic" comedy club, so we booked 2 tickets!! We arrived early and sampled the 2 for 1 cocktails well a few to be exact (the jalapeño one was nice and spicy as you'd expect). As we checked in the bar staff (very friendly and helpful) informed us that Russell Howard would also be performing that night so a famous comedian to top the bill -great news!!
The compare / warm up guy was very funny and gave some good banter reading the audience well. The young up and coming comedians were also quite funny although one young guy was stunned by a heckle from my wife (which also stunned me if I'm honest) but he did continue and did well. Russell Howard was actually trialing new material and spent a few moments editing his notes but was generally very good!! I'd also like to apologise to Russell if he reads this for my wife's Ice cube moment!! Too many cocktails I think??
Great night guys thank you - also the Scotch eggs are amazing!!!!! Not cheap but sooooo tasty!!!

Date of experience: February 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Kieron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Magicians show was very entertaining, the only downside of the evening was lack of table service due to insufficient staff. Would recommend for a fun night out

Date of experience: February 2015
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smoke & Mirrors also viewed

 

Been to Smoke & Mirrors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing