We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Cafe on Whiteladies Road” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marmalade cafe

The Marmalade cafe
Ranked #165 of 1,556 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Cafe on Whiteladies Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just a lovely place. Excellent food - with lots of variety. Great coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, and a genuinely friendly atmosphere. Locals love it, but it's worth going out of your way for. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slothboy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    15
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic cafe - everything you want from a welcoming, friendly cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We visited the Marmalade cafe on a trip to Bristol and loved the great food, lovely service and relaxing atmosphere. The food was delicious, filling and excellent value for money. Coffee was great, and it was made exactly to our individual requests/requirements. We had breakfast though the lunch and dinner menu looked just as delicious and again very reasonably priced. The staff were extremely friendly and they went out of their way to accommodate us. The perfect cafe experience...we will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllieKaballieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We keep going there, the food is amazing and very well priced, and the atmosphere is very relaxed and unpretencious, Highly recommend the chilli potatoes but everything else I have tried is really good as well! Well down to the owners, don't change it please

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goldepalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food like being with family lovely welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

So nice from the minute we walked in. Relaxed atmosphere and even one of the customers offered to move so we could all sit togther. Food was speedy and delicious, staff were really chatty and unbelievably helpful. If we didn't live in Wales we'd be here every week. Thanks guys

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

One of the nicest breakfasts we've ever had. Quality ingredients yet value for money. Far above your 'average' cafe. One of those rare places where everything on the menu looks great, even the chef.

Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cornish007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marmalade cafe also viewed

Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to The Marmalade cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing